Kimya Dawson saved me from a headache today

6 Aug

Today was one of those days when I got off work and into my car and just had to find a song that would make me not want to beat my head against the steering wheel. In fact, this whole week so far has been like that. Needless to say, I’m pretty stoked for the weekend.

Inevitably, the Juno soundtrack made me feel much, much better. Kimya Dawson, who sings all of my favorite songs on that album, is awesome and, in fact, because I went to see her at the National here in Richmond, I’ve even gotten to hug her. I guess I never shared that story, but to make it short, there was some group hugging after the show and then some real hugs from Kimya Dawson and while that might sound a little far out and hippie-dippie, trust me when I say it was one of the coolest concerts I’ve ever been to. Not that I’ve been to a lot of concerts or anything, but that one was, to date, my favorite. It was quite the experience to be part of a smallish, totally locked in group of concert-goers and to have an insanely talented and honest musician sitting on the stage who wasn’t (and isn’t) afraid to be who she is and who is completely tuned into her audience. Anyway, she rocks. Just so you know.

The Hubs started his new job yesterday and so far it looks like it’s going to be a pretty sweet deal. I’m not gonna lie – I’m excited about the thought of having health insurance again. Heath insurance, on the list of important things to have, ranks pretty high.

Lastly did you know my dog can swim better than I can?

It’s true. In a swimming competition, my dog would totally kick my ass.

2 Responses to “Kimya Dawson saved me from a headache today”

  1. anOCgirl August 7, 2008 at 8:48 AM #

    oh yay! health insurance! that’s awesome. for the first time in my life I was without health insurance for the first 90 days of my job and it was awful. even tho my new insurance sucks, it’s nice to have it.

    also, kimya/juno soundtrack rocks!

  2. nicoleantoinette August 7, 2008 at 10:23 AM #

    I just recently got health insurance on my own because I’m not getting it through my work (suck). That’s the next project for sure.

Leave a Reply

