Olympics, how I love thee!

12 Aug

First, let me just admit freely that I LOVE the Olympics. The moment I got home from work on Friday I clicked on the TV in a desperate attempt at finding something, ANYTHING recapping the opening ceremony, only to discover that they weren’t even mentioning it until they aired it at 8:00 PM. But then, at 8 when it came on, I was locked in, glued to the screen, eliciting ooohs and ahhhs and frantically gesturing at Andrew to “look look look look look – isn’t that neat?!?!?!” and bellowing out fun facts I’d learned on the internet about the opening ceremony – like, did you know they had over 15,000 performers, none of whom repeated and, and, and look at all those drummers and and and, oooohhh, fireworks are PRETTY!

This year, I’m mostly psyched about the swimming and gymnastics. The swimming fascination I blame on Michael Phelps and the fact that I can’t swim. At all. Except for maybe a very bad doggie-paddle. Seriously, I freak out if I can’t touch the bottom and have a fear of things like canoes and kayaks and boats and pretty much anything that could cause me to drown. Because the drowning…I don’t like it.

And then there’s gymnastics. Which are amazing and tend to be filled to the brim with drama, especially when there is falling involved, which inevitably makes me gasp and cringe. And there are, of course, those moves that make the gymnasts look like gravity is all one massive joke that applies only to us lesser, non-gymnast mortals.

Adding to my love of the Olympics this year, is that I have DVR capabilities and thus can record anything and everything I want to watch. It’s a beautiful thing this pausing and recording of live TV.

Last night I watched the US Men’s Swimming team kick some ass at the 400 meter relay and despite already knowing the outcome, I still jumped up and down in my living room and screamed at the TV.

Also, I’m totally comfortable with the fact that I’m a dork, thank you.

4 Responses to “Olympics, how I love thee!”

  1. feetfloorgo August 12, 2008 at 8:30 PM #

    I LOVE the Olympics too! It’s just a shame that all my sporting talent can be condensed into my little finger. I’m an amazing spectator though; like you I like to scream at the TV. I wish my country would do better though…

  2. anOCgirl August 13, 2008 at 2:28 PM #

    i love the summer olympics (not so much a winter olympics watcher) because of the swimming, gymnastics, and track and field. i was so sad last night when the women’s gymnastics team ended up with the silver. but the swimming has been awesome, especially with phelps winning all of those golds! go team USA!

  3. nicoleantoinette August 18, 2008 at 12:50 AM #

    I am obsessed with the Olympics too. So much.

  4. generation next September 3, 2008 at 11:27 AM #

    This post made me smile. I’m pretty sure you are not the only Olympics dork

Leave a Reply

