A little smattering of lots of randomness

18 Aug

While this information is so last week, I still feel the need to admit the medal ceremony for the girl’s gymnastics made me cry.  For serious.  Nastia Luiken looked so happy and little (she’s only 5’8” 4’8″) Shawn Johnson looked so sad and emotional but at the same time happy for Nastia that I just couldn’t help it.  I think what made it great was the awareness that it’s going to be one of those Olympic moments that I’ll remember for years.  And the way Nastia teared up and mouthed the words to the National Anthem – priceless! 
 
Also, Michael Phelps, while kicking tons and tons of ass, has not surprised me in the least.  He’s a beast.  Beasts tend to kick ass.
 
— 
 
This weekend was typical – hung out on the porch, had brunch at deLux with friends, took the BEST NAP EVER, watched Olympics, hung out on the porch some more until WAY too late at night, slept in, went to the river and exhausted myself, came home to a sparkling clean house thanks to Hubs, to bed early with much grouchiness about having to start yet another work week. 
 

 
I’ve been reading Into the Wild for a while now and I think it’s making me itchy. Itchy not in the poison ivy sort of way, but itchy in the, I-don’t-want-to-be-stuck-in-this-routine-anymore sort of way.  Things have just been so damn busy that each and every minute of my time is scheduled and there has been relatively NO time at all for me to just breathe and spend time with me (hence the lack of posting because I simply CANNOT write with others around and looking over my shoulder).  And then when I think about it I have to slap my head against something because really, the only thing I can complain about is having a life that is SO FULL of wonderful things and really, that’s not something to complain about at all.  I’m just not used to it and like I’ve said before, I still haven’t figured out how to spread out my time effectively or how to balance all the parts of my life so that things don’t get missed entirely.  Like me time.  And exercise time.  And just breathe time.  I really miss just breathe time.
 

 
As we found out on the way to deLux for Brunch on Saturday, it’s move-in week for VCU students already.  I’m not exactly sure how this is possible as it still feels like summer just began.  I’m not ready for it to end, not ready to lose those perfect days spent with good friends at the river just being, passing time with jokes and splashes, and attempting to trap minnows.  Really – I’m not ready for it to end.   What’s more is I’m relived I’m not going back to school this fall.  I just don’t know how I would handle it right now with all the aforementioned insantiy and FULLNESS that’s my life right now.  In fact, the thought of adding one more thing, one more responsibility, to the line-up makes my stomach do somersaults. 
 

I paid $3.41 a gallon for gas this morning.  I suppose that’s better than $4 a gallon.

 
Lastly, a quote:
 
“Women need real moments of solitude and self-reflection to balance out how much of ourselves we give away” – Barbara De Angelis

4 Responses to “A little smattering of lots of randomness”

  1. Rachel August 19, 2008 at 12:47 PM #

    did you seriously say “only 5’8”? are you kidding me? i’m 5’1 and thats gigantic to me. haha.

    i can’t believe summer is over already either, i’ve spent most of it chained to my desk, stinks being a grown up.

  2. feetfloorgo August 19, 2008 at 6:19 PM #

    Your weekend sounds perfect to me. I wish I had a porch to hang out on. I’d put a rocking chair on it.

    I’m itchy too. My Dad says I have itchy feet, because I always want to go somewhere.

  3. titus2woman August 19, 2008 at 7:32 PM #

    That quote is amazing…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi~totally Olympic crazy~LOVE IT ALL!

  4. andrew August 21, 2008 at 4:47 PM #

    I paid $3.35 yesterday.Tah-Dah!

Leave a Reply

