Secrets Set Free

27 Aug

I sent my first secret to PostSecret. Finally.

It was last Thursday and I’ve been pondering it’s sending for almost a full week now, hoping to find words to describe what it feels like to write down a deeply personal thought of mine and, without hiding parts of it, slip it into a mailbox for the world to discover.  All I’ve been able to come with is that it was a little nerve-racking, a little intimidating and one of the best things I’ve done for myself in a long, long time. The moment I slipped that postcard into the mailbox, I felt lighter, better, relieved and different.

I smiled the whole drive home, pleased with myself because I FINALLY took the time to define the problem, the hurt, the ache, the SECRET in just a few words. Before that it was always this looming ache that I couldn’t abbreviate. It took up so much space in my thoughts that I always seemed to come back to it. Now that it’s gone, now that I realize in spite of it I’m still okay, I can breathe.

Oddly enough, I don’t have any real desire to see my secret again. I always thought, in the process of thinking about my secrets, that I would want to see my secret posted on the website, or at an exhibit or in a book, but now, not so much. I’m content knowing that somewhere along its journey from Richmond, Virginia to Germantown, Maryland, someone saw it. And, as it turns out, that’s all I really needed.

4 Responses to “Secrets Set Free”

  1. nicoleantoinette August 28, 2008 at 1:53 AM #

    I’m obviously curious about your secret, but I won’t ask. Instead I’ll say congratulations for getting it out there!

  2. titus2woman August 28, 2008 at 9:21 AM #

    Yes, you surely DO make one curious!!!! Isn’t that TERRIBLE? I had never visited PostSecret, but I see it’s not at all what I thought it was. I wondered if it would be fullfilling~I like a listener and feedback~but I think it could be! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  3. anOCgirl August 28, 2008 at 12:09 PM #

    postsecret is awesome. congrats on opening up and sharing ur secret!

  4. generation next September 3, 2008 at 9:23 AM #

    Aw, that’s really great that it felt so freeing.

Leave a Reply

