Splish, Splash

28 Aug

 
After a wickedly dry summer, it’s finally raining.

I’m told it’s residuals from Hurricane Fay and I don’t really care where it’s coming from – I’m just glad it’s here. After months of going to the river each weekend and watching the level drop significantly each week, it’s obvious this weather is necessary. And besides, I love the rain.

Terra’s Ten Reasons Why Rain Is Something to get Excited About

  1. It smells good.
  2. It’s funny to watch men in suits briskly walking into my office building from the parking lot with their umbrellas during a light mist while I stroll through the parking lot in a skirt, heels and no umbrella.
  3. After running through a downpour, you can’t help but laugh at yourself
  4. The sound of rain drops hitting anything – whether it’s trees, or the ground, or my roof – is perfect.
  5. The feeling of electricity in the air after a thunderstorm.
  6. Jumping in puddles, regardless of how old you may be, is still fun.
  7. We need it to survive.
  8. It’s totally and completely different from the sunny, bright, sweltering days we’ve been having.
  9. It cleans my car – for free!
  10. The world just looks better after rain.

The bad thing about the weather right now? New Orleans having to deal with looming Hurricane Gustav just as we get to the three year anniversary of Hurricane Katrina.<

3 Responses to “Splish, Splash”

  1. anOCgirl August 28, 2008 at 12:08 PM #

    love reason #9. the car has not been washed in forever! thank goodness for this rain!

  2. titus2woman August 29, 2008 at 1:18 AM #

    LOVE THIS LIST! I’ll never forget the time I allowed my boys to jump every puddle on the way home from the park~BOY did they have a great time! All of the kids have loved playing in the rain every day~LOL! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  3. nicoleantoinette August 31, 2008 at 2:32 AM #

    This is really gorgeous actually. I want rain!

Leave a Reply

