I ate the self-imposed duct tape muzzle

3 Sep

 

God I’m funny.  I thought I could continue writing about porch shenanigans and the insanity of my huskymutt despite all this election year mumbo jumbo.  That’s pretty cute, isn’t it?  I mean, what was I thinking?  Keeping quiet about this election as I’m franticly refreshing news websites in anticipation of the next big headline is just impossible.  I’m psyched, and maybe that’s not such a bad thing to talk about after all.

 

Truth is, I’ve only voted in one presidential election so far, and let’s face it: our choices in 2004 were, uh, well, they were what they were (Giant Douche and a Turd Sandwich – South Park anyone?).  And now that I get to vote again for the President of the United States of America, one of the most important jobs in the whole WORLD as far as I’m concerned, I’m elated.  This is BIG.  This one matters.  Yes, yes, voting always matters.  Of course I know that, and I know by not voting you’re giving up your right to complain but this year, this election is, as I’m seeing it, historic.  I actually feel like I have, dare I say, a choice.  For the first time in my life there are people up there who are NOT old white dudes!  Yippee! 

 

This election race has given me warm fuzzies. No joke. Knowing that Obama accepted the democratic presidential nomination on the 45th anniversary of Martin Luther King, Jr.’s “I Have a Dream” speech made me feel good.  I smiled the whole day.  I couldn’t help it.  It just seemed so BIG and IMPORTANT and that I’m here getting to witness it all just makes me PROUD. This is history in motion folks, the future pages of text books are being written right before our eyes and I am taking it all in, loving every minute of it. 

 

Last week there were some kids (and I call them kids because they were 18 & 19 respectively) on the porch and while the porch crew was buzzing with excitement about how AMAZING this election year is, I asked these kids if they were going to vote.  And wouldn’t you know it – they said no, they didn’t think so.  And guess what? I lost my shit.  I was shocked, dismayed, horrified.  I explained to them how important this is, asked them if they could seriously look their children in the eye years down the road and say no, they didn’t vote in the first presidential election that featured a minority as one of the candidates and only the 2nd woman to run on a major political party ticket for VP because, you know, it just didn’t seem important at the time.  They mumbled ridiculous excuses about how it’s hard to register to vote (cough*bullshit*cough) and about how they didn’t know if they could get off work to go vote come November (trust me, YOU CAN I told them).  And so Andrew and I, being an awesome team of persuasion and ferociousness, explained to them that it is their RIGHT and DUTY as American citizens to VOTE.  We explained that they CAN, in fact make a difference with their votes and that people have died for them to have that right and if they didn’t vote, well, then they can’t complain if things don’t go their way. And really, who doesn’t like to complain every now and then?

 

A few days later, one of them told me he did register to vote and while I applauded him and told him that’s a good start, I also told him the most important part is actually doing the voting.  Because really, what possible excuse is there for not voting?  I can’t think of one, especially when my state is listed as a swing state for the first time in a long while. 

 

That’s another thing – people who say their votes doesn’t matter because they live in a blue/red state and they don’t vote blue/red and therefore aren’t going to vote at all, are stupid.  Sorry.  That just doesn’t add up.  Having views that are completely different from mine isn’t stupid, it’s your right, but saying you don’t care to vote because you live in a red state and would vote blue or live in a blue state and would vote red is just ignorant.  If all of the people wandering around saying that crap actually went out and VOTED, who knows, things might be totally and completely different. 

 

So VOTE people.  I don’t care who you vote for.  Really, I don’t.  The important thing is that you actually utilize your basic American right to have a say in what goes on in this country of ours and VOTE.  Do it.  It’s easy.  If you’re not registered, don’t worry – in today’s age of technological advancement, you can even register online! You’ve still got time.  Just DO it. Okay? 

 

 

Oh, and for the record, abstinence only programs DON’T work Sarah Palin.  Just so you know. 

4 Responses to “I ate the self-imposed duct tape muzzle”

  1. Alejandro September 3, 2008 at 3:16 PM #

    Hear, hear! To everything you said! 🙂

  2. nicoleantoinette September 4, 2008 at 12:49 AM #

    Yes, yes, YES!

  3. Liz September 4, 2008 at 6:02 AM #

    It’s about time:}. I was wondering when your breaking point would be. Would you believe that Chris is slightly more impassioned than me about politics lately? It’s crazy:}. Something I never thought I’d see.

  4. anOCgirl September 4, 2008 at 11:44 AM #

    good for you for convincing those youngsters to vote. hopefully, they’re democrats. it’s very exciting that VA is a swing state this year. it was the reason why i decided to become a registered voter in VA and say goodbye to my CA absentee ballots.

Leave a Reply

