The one about Bristol Palin and SEX

4 Sep

I’ll be honest. I don’t know if Bristol Palin’s pregnancy warrants international headlines. But then again, I don’t know if it doesn’t warrant international headlines either.

One thing’s for sure: if you don’t want your family secrets or shenanigans aired before the world, don’t run for a major political office in this country. It might not be right for the children of political figures to be exposed to the media, but that’s the way it is. Love it or leave it.

I don’t like Sarah Palin. I’m not a fan of her politics and I certainly don’t want her in my White House. I do think she’s a bad ass, but I still don’t like her.

I don’t blame Bristol Palin’s pregnancy on Sarah Palin’s mothering skills. Instead, I blame Bristol’s pregnancy on Sarah’s political stance against comprehensive sex education.

Teenagers have sex! That’s just the way the cookie crumbles. There ain’t no way to stop ’em from doing it and while I’m sure we’d all like to believe little Timmy and precious Samantha aren’t going to grow up and do it in the back of his 1992 Honda Civic, the odds are against us. Yes, it’s true; some teenagers are clever enough to hold on to their virginity until they reach adulthood and find that one special person they really want to fumble around awkwardly with in the dark. But that’s not everyone (and isn’t that a novel idea – that one CHOICE isn’t right for everyone?).

I could probably go on about this until November, but I’ll save a few words and say this: Do I think we should teach extra-comprehensive sex education and hand out condoms to fourth graders? Probably not. Do I think teenagers have a right to be well-educated about all their options, not just abstinence? Abso-freakin’-lutely.

I know every parent wants their kid to be abstinent and wait for love and marriage, and that’s great. But the bottom line is this: someday, whether your kid is in high school, college, married, single, straight or gay, whether they wait for marriage, or if they do it just to do it – they’re gonna have sex. It’s true.

Isn’t it better if they know what they’re getting into?

7 Responses to “The one about Bristol Palin and SEX”

  1. anOCgirl September 4, 2008 at 2:42 PM #

    YES, YES, YES!!!

    also, i love you called it, ‘my white house’. if only every voter felt that way.

  2. Bookstore Piet September 4, 2008 at 3:55 PM #

    If Bristol Palin’s mom had a ‘D’ as a party affiliation the far right would be screaming about poor parenting and making it an issue. Personally, I don’t think it should be an issue except as an indictment of ignorance based sex ed as you said. Let us not forget the uproar from certain politicians at Murphy Brown’s pregnancy a few years back…

  3. kindnessgirl September 4, 2008 at 4:56 PM #

    Amen Sistah!!!! couldn’t agree more…especially as someone who was a product of abstinence education. I was terribly uninformed!

  4. Ash September 4, 2008 at 7:03 PM #

    Yep, you said it well, T. I just had a discussion about it with your grandma – she loves Palin, and points out that in her day you didn’t need sex ed, and there were very few pregnancies of teens. True, I say, but as you pointed out, the fact of the matter is that teens have sex now, and if they know their options for preventing STD’s and pregnancy, there’s going to be fewer shotgun weddings, fewer abortions, fewer kids with permanent illnesses. You can’t just tell them “say no” and expect them to do it anymore. The world has moved on to another age.

  5. stellastewart September 5, 2008 at 3:39 AM #

    abstinence is 100% effective. i think what people should really be teaching is self esteem. the only teenagers that have sex have low self esteem. i know, i didnt do it and i allways felt pride in myself 🙂

  6. titus2woman September 10, 2008 at 3:29 PM #

    It’s funny how our backgrounds affect who we become and how we view things. I was never taught *anything* about abstinence and almost feel robbed, because how amazing would it have been to have saved all of those feelings for my husband? (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  7. Nicki Fellenzer September 12, 2008 at 7:45 AM #

    Darling, I have to disagree with you to a point. I like Sarah Palin’s politics, but they stop at the social agenda crap. However, there’s no real evidence that her social views will in any way, shape or form be turned into national policy.

    Do I hate her bullshit “marriage should be between a man and a woman” routine? Yeah. It’s stupid, and the government has no business in a personal contract between two consenting adults.

    Do I think “abstinence only” education is stupid? MONUMENTALLY. But – her stance was that she was against EXCLUSIVE and EXPLICIT sex ed. I haven’t seen anything that said she would fund abstinence only education, while ignoring the realities of today’s teenagers.

    Additionally – you know this as well as I do – teenagers will find out about sex and contraception and will probably know more than their parents by the time they hit 16 with or without sex ed, and regardless of whether or not they’re taught abstinence. Is it truly realistic to claim that because Sarah Palin supports abstinence ed that Bristol Palin didn’t know about contraception??? Seriously???

    Chances are she and the boy merely got into the heat of the moment, and considering themselvees invincible, like most teenagers will, said, “Fuck it! Let’s screw!”

    On the other hand, despite the flip-flop on the Bridge to Nowhere, which just pisses me off beyond belief, she did take on the corrupt politicians in her own party, she has a pretty good record on fiscal issues, and she did negotiate an oil pipeline deal with Canada.

    Overall, I think she’s better than McCain, whom I can’t stand!

    Thanks for thinking of the Redhead, by the way. He had a wonderful berfday! 😀

Leave a Reply

