Turtle-turtle + Terra and a soapbox of conviction + purple = This Post

9 Sep

I discovered I love my husband even more than originally suspected on Sunday. When we almost ran over a turtle who was crossing the road, I demanded we go rescue it, so Hubs, being all that is good and tolerant, made an illegal u-turn, told me to “book it” as I ran out into traffic to save Mr. Turtle and humored me as I yelled at the turtle to “stay out of the middle of the road and not die please kthxbai.”

He didn’t even call me crazy. Not once.

In bigger news, I realized I actually care about politics this year. It doesn’t sound all that groundbreaking, but never before have I pulled out a soapbox and prattled off a list of reasons why I’m for or against a candidate (this tends to involve hating on Sarah Palin with her self-proclaimed status as a feminist which um, HELLO? DOES NOT COMPUTE thankyouverymuch), nor have I ever attempted to persuade people, who really don’t even need persuading, to join my side. I think I always cared a little bit because it was the right thing to do and because, hey, all my friends were doing it so why can’t I, but this year is different. This is the year that I’ve gobbled up every bit of information on the presidential and vice presidential candidates and formed my very own opinions about why things are bad and wretched or good and fabulous.

In the last election, I was 20. I kinda knew what I believed. I mostly knew how to articulate my political viewpoints and I even watched the news from time to time to stay up to date on what was going on. But this year I’ve actually gone and searched for information, rather than just let it fall into my lap like four years ago.

As it turns out, I’ve become the person I’ve always wanted to be in regards to political viewpoints. I always wanted strong convictions; I just couldn’t muster up the energy back then.

This is totally and completely random but I really want a purple bedroom. Not lavender, but like a deep, royal purple. It’s nothing new as I had a purple bedroom in high school but for whatever reason I want one now. Like right now. Except for I live an apartment and can’t paint and whatnot. That’s the part I haven’t worked out yet. That’s what makes me want to go buy a house right this instant and then paint my bedroom purple and my kitchen blue and my living room lime green and my dining room bright yellow and yeah…I like color. A lot.

Two days into the work week and my head might explode. Seriously. I can has weekend?

2 Responses to “Turtle-turtle + Terra and a soapbox of conviction + purple = This Post”

  1. anOCgirl September 9, 2008 at 5:30 PM #

    awww…i don’t even know you outside of your lovely blog and the recent fun email chat we had but when i read this (As it turns out, I’ve become the person I’ve always wanted to be in regards to political viewpoints), i smiled with pride. as someone who is so into politics, it’s really awesome to see someone else come into their own political idealizations. kudos to you!

Leave a Reply

