Fall, fall, fall! I love fall!

24 Sep

Really, I do. I have been known to occasionally despise winter, but not fall. Fall is beautiful with its changing leaves, and its crispy air. In fact, I decided, just now, that it’s my favorite season, especially after such a HOT and MUGGY summer. I’m ready for it. I’m ready for jackets, and sweaters, and scarves and reasons to curl up under a blanket on the couch with the husband and a cup of tea. I’m ready for everything to smell like pumpkins and cinnamon and ready to turn off the air conditioning. I’m ready for kicking up leaves while walking down a sidewalk, ready for the smell of burnt wood, and ready for October.

One of the best things about cooler weather? How cozy you feel when you get inside. It’s not the same as hitting the air conditioning after coming in from a HOT and MISERABLE summer day – no, that’s just called relief. Coming in from the cold is cozy, comfortable, and ultimately just makes me want to put on pajamas, curl up and take a nap.

On a random note, two nights ago I woke up in the middle of the night after a strange and mostly forgotten dream that somehow involved me putting my hand in a pie. And I thought it was real and was, at approximately two in the morning, super excited about blogging about it the next day. When I woke up later and realized it had all been a strange dream, I felt like an idiot. The end.

What’s your favorite season and why?

4 Responses to “Fall, fall, fall! I love fall!”

  1. generation next September 24, 2008 at 11:38 AM #

    I am with you on all the fall-love things! I hate cold weather too, but I love the Fall smell and crunchy leaves, and football games, and putting on long sleeves and boots for the first time.

    I frequently have dreams where they feel so real it takes me a moment to come to, and others where after the fact, I can’t remember whether something really happened, or if it was just a dream.

  2. Micah September 24, 2008 at 11:44 AM #

    Fall’s definitely my favorite season, too (though I do like winter…and spring; I HATE summer). In fact, I’m doing an ode to autumn all this week on my blog.

    Pumpkin-flavored foods and drinks, better clothes, fireplaces, scary movies on TV – what’s not to love?

  3. anOCgirl September 24, 2008 at 7:21 PM #

    back when i lived in cali, summer was my favorite season because it was beach season and school was out. then i moved to DC and decided summer sucks because of the humidity.

    i now love fall because it means the start of college football. go trojans!

  4. turnonthestars September 26, 2008 at 5:38 AM #

    I love summer. We have hot and humid summers in sydney too, but my god do I love them. I’d rather just be warm than cold. I don’t handle the cold well at all. Like…I freeze if there’s even the slightest hint of cool in the air.
    I’d take summer all year round if I could. 🙂

Leave a Reply

