Slumlordery & the first step to Homeownership

17 Oct

Have I ever told you about how my apartment complex is run by slumlords? I can’t remember. But just trust me when I say they’re complete and total scumbags, so scummy, in fact, that they have posted fake positive reviews on apartmentratings.com. Apparently that’s the only way they can get good reviews, which, considering they suck, isn’t really all that surprising at all.

Proof of Slumishness:
My very cool, very old windows are kept shut with a screwdriver. For real. When it rains, my windows leak. Once upon a time, the slumlords tried to charge us for having a dog for the three months we didn’t. Also, they suck. Did I mention that part? The apartment across from mine flooded once – REALLY badly and so the people that lived there, who just happened to be my friends, moved out to another apartment. Well, my slumlords just painted the walls in the flooded aparemtn. They didn’t redo the drywall like they should have to prevent things like DIRTY ICKY MOLD from growing in the walls. I’m hoping, in an I-Hate-Slumlords kind of way, that the new people who live there develop upper respiratory infections and sue the slumlords. Because that would make my day.

So basically, because we hate slumlords and think that renting is stupid anyway, we gave our required 90 day notice that we will, in fact, not be sticking around for another year to be used and abused by the slumlords and will instead be – gasp – buying a house. Soon. As in like December. Which makes me say “WOO-FREAKIN-HOO!!!!” and “AHHHHHHHHH SHIT!” all at the same time. For reals. Because home buying is scary, ya’ll. And regardless of how much I like to pretend to know stuff about home buying because I kinda, sorta work for a mortgage company, as it turns out, having never bought a house before, I actually don’t know diddly. But, holy crap a house in which I can PAINT and LIVE and NOT HAVE CRAPPY SLUMLORDS THAT ARE SLUMMY AND GROSS! WEEEEE!!! ALSO, no maintenance workers peeking in my windows! YAY!

So anyway, Wednesday we gave our notice to the slumlords that we hate them and will not be staying in our gorgeous yet still run by slumlords apartment and then Thursday I emailed an agent and next Tuesday we will be meeting and discussing things with him and I will likely spend some time hyperventilating as well. Because, from what I’ve heard, home-buying can, occasionally, lead to hyperventilation, and let’s face it – I’m a spaz.

Also, as it turns out, Andrew and I have very different ideas in what we want in a house which is strange. I mean, it’s not weird that we have different opinions, but it is weird that we only found out about those different opinions yesterday. You would think we would have discussed this previously, but apparently we suck at having discussions about such majorly important things as buying a house.  Maybe we should work on that.

6 Responses to “Slumlordery & the first step to Homeownership”

  1. erin taylor October 17, 2008 at 4:19 PM #

    ahh, gutsy! i am contemplating the same, although i tend to say oh shit more than woo-hoo! good luck!

  2. turnonthestars October 18, 2008 at 8:35 AM #

    my job is minimum wage. so chances are I’ll never buy a house. I’ll probably have to move my not-yet-existant family into my parents house, really.

    I’m excited for you 🙂

  3. nicoleantoinette October 18, 2008 at 12:25 PM #

    This is such great news! I’m so excited for you guys 🙂

    No more slumlords!

  4. nicoleantoinette October 18, 2008 at 12:26 PM #

    Also? this is a GREAT post title.

  5. Ash October 19, 2008 at 10:23 PM #

    WoW!!! Congrats, T & A, on your future purchase. What kinds of houses did you each have in mind? Inquiring minds want to know these things!

  6. anOCgirl October 20, 2008 at 8:39 AM #

    oh wow. such good news. homeownership is a very big step. this is such an adult decision. yay! having been thru the home buying process a few years ago, i’d be happy to offer any tips if necessary.

Leave a Reply

