Best Day EVER: Obama & a House

5 Nov

First, I’ve got to say this: YES WE CAN.

I am so proud, so touched, so amazed at the results of this presidential election. I am honored to be a part of the electorate that helped make this happen, and honored to have been a volunteer for the Obama campaign. I cried hot happy tears last night as I watched Obama speak in Chicago. This morning, listening to the NPR recap of last night, all it took was Obama’s voice saying YES WE CAN, and I got goose bumps, tears in my eyes and an overwhelming feeling of happiness. This is proof, undeniable proof, that yes, my vote matter. That yes, I can make a difference. That yes, voting is so, so worth it.

I’ve never cared about politics really. No one has ever come out and wowed me. Until now. Watching Obama last night as he whispered to his daughters and kissed his wife, and listening to him talk about his supporters, his beautiful wife and the puppy his daughters will get was nothing short of amazing. It was a moment in American history, a moment I had a hand in, and a moment I will never, ever forget.

In other big news, the offer we made on the house yesterday was accepted. We looked at a total of seven houses on Sunday, fell in love with three, narrowed it down to two, went and looked at those two Monday evening, made an offer on our favorite one yesterday, and by 5 PM last night the offer was accepted and we got ourselves a house.

The house:

house

Yeah, I know. It’s perfect for us.

November 4, 2008 was seriously, without a doubt, one of the greatest days I’ve ever had the privilege to live.

10 Responses to “Best Day EVER: Obama & a House”

  1. Holly November 5, 2008 at 2:00 PM #

    Holy crap, I can’t belive you got a house that fast!

  2. feetfloorgo November 5, 2008 at 2:43 PM #

    I must admit that I did get a little teary watching Obama’s speech on the news this evening.

    Pretty house, I bet you’re itching to move in!

  3. rachel November 5, 2008 at 3:10 PM #

    eeeeeeeeee! (<— that was me, freaking out!) i’m SO SO SO happy for you. the house is beautiful and yesterday was an amazing day to be an american. i can’t believe you found the house so fast!!! yay!!!

  4. Mermanda November 5, 2008 at 3:10 PM #

    WOW! That house is amazing. And I have no experience with real estate, but that all happened amazingly quickly! I usually hear about people painfully awaiting news from the bank for weeks and sometimes an entire month before they know anything. That’s very exciting!

    And as for Obama? HELL YES!

  5. anOCgirl November 5, 2008 at 5:55 PM #

    so happy for you on the new house! also, is it sacriligious to suggest that ‘yes we can’ is the new ‘i have a dream’? because i really feel it, you know?

  6. Rhia November 5, 2008 at 6:17 PM #

    hey terra! wow your new house is so cute! i bet sadie will love the backyard.you know what would be really cool is if we could have a family thanksgiving at your new house if your moved in by then.and i agree i think yesterday will be a very historic and memorable day for america

  7. Ash November 5, 2008 at 8:47 PM #

    Whooo-Weee! What a beautiful house, Terra! Is it as pretty inside as it is outside? I can’t wait to see it! When do you move in???

    And, oh yes, Obama ROCKS!

  8. titus2woman November 5, 2008 at 9:55 PM #

    *CONGRATS!* on your house! *HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!* to your hubby! LOVED your Halloween pics! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  9. kirby November 6, 2008 at 4:19 AM #

    WOW.. I’m impressed on both accounts. Thank God Obama got in!

    My first thought on the house is that it will look amazing at Christmas time. WHEEE. I am terribly happy for you!

  10. TWB November 14, 2008 at 10:27 PM #

    Thank You and Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

