Color me something that looks reasonable and not ridiculous

13 Nov

Yesterday we had the inspection on our house to see if we were getting ourselves into a massive pile of dog turds or not. As it turns out, our house is awesome and only needs a few minor repairs. I found this to be amazing seeing as the house was built in 1924. Is old.

I wish I could go back in time and see the house as it was with it’s first owners. I mean, what were they like? What was their story? Is the house haunted?

Also, I wish I knew which color to paint the dining room. We’re all kinda stumped at this point. At first I got all excited about the prospect of wall-papering but then I realized that I’m not really going to want to attempt that in the very beginning and so – WE MUST PAINT! But what color? The living room, which will likely end up being yellow, and the dining room are connected by a large opening and so they need to flow. And then the kitchen, just off the dining room, which might end up BLUE, needs to be considered too when picking a dining room color. I’m stumped. Really, I am.

If you could paint a room any color, what color would you paint it?

10 Responses to “Color me something that looks reasonable and not ridiculous”

  1. nicoleantoinette November 13, 2008 at 2:06 PM #

    Something in the brown family probably. Totally different feel than most other colors, and can be really warm and cozy.

  2. Mermanda November 13, 2008 at 3:00 PM #

    I like something warm and cozy too. Coffee inspired colors and deep warm oranges and golds.

  3. Valerie November 13, 2008 at 3:03 PM #

    The dining room in our old house was painted a color called “melted chocolate.” I loved it and miss it very much.

  4. Liz November 13, 2008 at 9:23 PM #

    By the way you are describing it, a burnt orange would go well (or dark gold) since it’ll match both the blue and the yellow. Just look at the color wheel for inspiration:}.

  5. anOCgirl November 14, 2008 at 9:28 AM #

    if i could paint a room any color, it would be red. well, crimson. and not every wall b/c that would be harsh. if we could’ve done it in our condo, we would’ve. but our living room ended up blue (crimson is our accent color tho).

    you could just continue the living room color into the hallway which is what we did in our condo. painting the hallway a different color would’ve broken up the flow in our place.

  6. Holly November 14, 2008 at 1:23 PM #

    I think a deep red could be nice for a dining room since red is energizing and makes people want to eat (studies have shown this–also think of how much red is in advertising and logos?) But you of course have to think about how it will tie in to the living and kitchen colors. You could try grey like we talked about? That would be a neutral in between all that color. And if you have a chair rail and keep the below white, that will balance out all the color.

  7. Ash November 14, 2008 at 3:14 PM #

    Ooo, so I’m not the only one who likes lovely coffee and chocolates and burnt oranges and golds! Slight vindication since I was accused of having my bathroom the color of dog shit…. 😉

  8. Rhiannon November 15, 2008 at 12:12 AM #

    i say either a deep red or a medium purple or royal purple.

  9. picturesandpostits November 16, 2008 at 4:40 AM #

    could you imagine if it DID end up being haunted!?
    I’d be freaked out.

    I’m painting my whole house a milky coffee colour when I move out. I’m far too lazy to consider colours for each individual room. I’ll do that with room dressings, I think.

  10. titus2woman November 20, 2008 at 7:20 PM #

    I’d love to know the history of our house as well! My Aunt has a beautiful Chocolate Milk colored bedroom in her house that is AMAZING! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

