I’m something

19 Nov

I’m amazed by:
The number of stars in the sky. How therapeutic a long drive by myself can be. How much I love the HuskyMutt. The smell of fresh baked bread. How far I’ve come. How good my husband is to me. How much fun it is to pick out paint colors. How beautiful my friends are. Barack Obama. The complexity of each and every snowflake. How good my chocolate chip cookies are. Andrew’s sense of humor. How many bloggers are having babies. How good the cherry tomatoes at Whole Foods tasted. The enormity of the ocean.

I’m confused by:
Math. Gravity. My amazing ability to get lost inside department stores. The logic used against abortion and homosexuality and the logic used for such things as racism, sexism and hatred. Most sports. My bed being suddenly uncomfortable and thus causing me to wake up with a backache nearly every morning. Where all my time keeps going. Ignorance.

I’m angered by:
The number of children that starve to death each day while we come up with a $700 billion bail-out plan. The racism that is still prevalent in this country, despite the election of a black man as president. The AIDS epidemic still being an epidemic. Child abuse. Sexism still gripping America. Prop 8. The vast unfairness of it all. The realization that so many people can’t remove their religious views from politics, even though separation of church and state is something this country was founded on. People who continue to say their vote doesn’t matter. Violence, hate and prejudice.

I’m inspired by:
My generation. The sense of hope Obama has given me, and so many others. So many people pushing awareness. The promise of real change. My husband. My friends. Blogs. All the possibilities that are stacking up. The logic that SadieDog can’t keep shedding so much forever, or else she’ll go totally bald. Sunny days. Good songs that come on the radio just when you need them. Volunteers. All those home improvement shows on TLC. Paint colors for the new house. Laughter. Smiles.  Random acts of kindness.

3 Responses to “I’m something”

  1. Mermanda November 19, 2008 at 2:32 PM #

    Great post. I am in agreement with you on pretty much everything. (My Andrew’s sense of humor amazes me too.)

  2. picturesandpostits November 20, 2008 at 7:42 AM #

    HuskyMutt Brush: There’s a brush called the ‘furminator’, I don’t know if you’ve heard of it. I have one, and I know it came from America, so they exist over there! But honestly – it’s the best brush for malting puppies! SuperWal loves it!

    I like this post 🙂

  3. anOCgirl November 20, 2008 at 10:52 AM #

    “The realization that so many people can’t remove their religious views from politics, even though separation of church and state is something this country was founded on.”
    that pisses me off too!

    great post!

Leave a Reply

