A Confession: I might be a jerk

20 Nov

I hate riding the elevator with people I don’t know. In fact, I’m kind of a bitch about it.

I’ll push the “close doors” button even if I know someone is rushing toward MY elevator. I just don’t care. I know the ride to my floor lasts only about five seconds, but that’s five seconds I don’t want to be on an elevator with anyone else.

If there’s a group of ladies from the office across from ours waiting to get on the elevator at the end of the day, I will find something to do rather than ride down the elevator with them.

My work building makes this behavior easy. There are three elevators, and only five floors in my building. This means I don’t feel guilty when I hop on the elevator on the bottom floor and plead with the powers that be to CLOSE THE DOORS RIGHT NOW because I know that as soon as my doors close, the doors to another elevator will open. So really, I’m not inconveniencing anyone THAT much. Or at least that’s how I rationalize it in my head.

I’ve pondered this aversion of mine to sharing elevator space and breathing room with strangers, but the only logical (yeah right) reason I’ve come up with is that I’m scared, on some subconscious level, of getting trapped in a elevator with someone I don’t know, though I’d have absolutely no problem getting trapped all by myself.

I don’t tend to consider myself anti-social but after writing this I’m thinking that maybe, on just a little level, I am.

Also, please don’t hate me for letting the elevator doors shut in your face. I promise I’m usually a very nice person.

3 Responses to “A Confession: I might be a jerk”

  1. Holly November 20, 2008 at 9:08 PM #

    I don’t think this makes you anti social, though it is funny. I don’t like when people don’t give you appropriate elevator space. But then, I rarely need to ride an elevator. Much weirder are those people who are like, afraid of elevators, and have to take the stairs.

  2. (((((HUGS))))) sandi November 21, 2008 at 2:50 AM #

    http://debscrafts55.blogspot.com/2008/11/more-on-kosovo-school-kids.html

    I saw this and thought of you. ~smile~ (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  3. Ash November 21, 2008 at 4:53 PM #

    I don’t think it’s weird – don’t you kind of worry way in the back of your mind about getting in the elevator with a serial killer who is secretly on the rampage or something? I mean, you never know about people…I think if I rode an elevator a lot I might not have that feeling, but I don’t, it’s occasional, and therefor there’s just always that little thought…what if I get trapped in here with _________…

Leave a Reply

