Only marginally Coherant because hey – It’s Friday

21 Nov

It’s Friday, my brain is totally fried, and I’m beyond ready for the weekend. I’m lazy today and can’t seem to move my mind past the following:

– Thanksgiving. Due to a massive overload of stuff going on this year (Work, Dogs, High School Reunions), I’m not going home for Thanksgiving, but have instead decided to cook for the few orphans/people that live far, far away from thier families that live in my apartment building. It’s likely I will end up poisoning all of them. Despite the possibility of posioning everyone, I’m getting very, very excited about cooking a massive meal for my friends, even though I’ve never attempted anything of this scale before. All I can say is thank goodness for one friend who’s a chef, and the other who’s been making Thanksgiving dinner for 13 years. When I say I love my friends, I mean I LOVE my friends. Also, we only have two dining chairs. How I intended on hosting a mini-Thanksgiving get together with only two dining chairs is beyond me, but it’s come to my attention that I need to either get my self to the thrift store NOW or declare this Thanksgiving a BYOC (Bring Your Own Chair) event.

– Linens-n-Things. They are closing. This weekend I am going to ransack their store and stock up on things that my kitchen is lacking in and maybe some other random stuff I don’t need, but will get anyway because it’s cheap and you know, I’m buying a house that has a ridiculous number of rooms in it and I must have something to put in those rooms.

– Paint colors. I’m ALWAYS thinking about paint colors.

Prop. 8. Stupid, stupid, stupid.

– The Random Recipe Generator which provided me with the following recipe:

Soy Sauce Crumble
Serves 4

You will need:
• 90ml white wine
• 70ml soy sauce

Instructions:
1. pre-heat the oven to 190 C
2. put the white wine in the saucepan
3. rinse the soy sauce
4. bake for 40 minutes and serve hot

Maybe I’ll add that to my Thanksgiving menu…

4 Responses to “Only marginally Coherant because hey – It’s Friday”

  1. Mermanda November 21, 2008 at 2:52 PM #

    So… do you serve that with a ladle… or in shot glasses?

    I am not above drinking soy sauce, by the way.

  2. m November 21, 2008 at 5:44 PM #

    Even though you have a chef friend and someone who’s done Thanksgiving dinner for some years, you may want to go to this site. I like it because it allows you to change the number of people you’re serving and then adjusts the ingredient amounts. http://www.allrecipes.com

  3. Holly November 22, 2008 at 2:27 PM #

    I’m stranded without a car this weekend (and I’m not in DE like I”m supposed to be). If you go to Linens and Things, will you let me know if they have electric blankets? I need one.

  4. emiliemarie November 24, 2008 at 9:38 AM #

    Hello! I found your blog through Kirby – and have been addicted to reading it for months! I figured it’s about time I commented 🙂 Are all Linens-N-Things closing? That would be horrible!

Leave a Reply

