Thanksgiving Tradition: A Song Search

26 Nov

Each year on the day before Thanksgiving and on the day of giving thanks itself, I begin to plead with the Radio Gods to play “Alice’s Restaurant” by Arlo Guthrie. It’s something like 25 minutes long, and thus, not a lot of radio stations are willing to play it because they hate me, or at least that’s what I like to believe. The search for this song is somewhat of a Thanksgiving tradition to me and I don’t tend to count the fourth Thursday in November as Thanksgiving unless I hear this song, in its entirety, at least once and last year I didn’t so I guess you could say I haven’t had Thanksgiving in two years. (You don’t have to tell me my logic is off, I’m well aware of it.)

This year I started the search early and realized that there’s this great resource available to me called the INTERNET. Thus, with the realization that the internet is awesome, I set out this morning to find “Alice’s Restaurant” on the great big internet. And I did. It’s still early in the morning and I haven’t been at work for that long now but I’ve already listened to it once and am already half way through the second listen and sure as shit tomorrow around noon I’m sure you’ll find me in the kitchen either hyperventilating or listening and bopping (I don’t even know what that means but I imagine that I do it because it sounds sort of dorky) to “Alice’s Restaurant” because that’s just the kind of person I am.

What’s your Thanksgiving tradition?

3 Responses to “Thanksgiving Tradition: A Song Search”

  1. Ash November 26, 2008 at 5:41 PM #

    Well, usually getting together at Grandma’s and eating a lot! We will miss you and Andrew this year, but hopefully we can see you the next weekend when you come up for drill. Can we all have dinner on night? Love you and Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Ash November 26, 2008 at 5:42 PM #

    Oh, and this Thanksgiving, we are giving thanks for the fact that we are about to finally get formal custody of Rhia – it goes to court on the 8th.

    And I hope you will be giving thanks for that new job – when do you find out??

    Love ya!

  3. anOCgirl November 27, 2008 at 11:57 AM #

    my tradition is The List, which you’ve already seen. 🙂 hope you have a happy thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

