Things I think about now that I (almost) own a home

3 Dec

I just decided I don’t like chicken. I’m not sure why I’ve been eating it for 24 years because I actually find it disgusting.

Also, I have given myself a headache trying to pick out a refrigerator for the new house which will be ours in EIGHT DAYS AND IF I THINK ABOUT IT ANYMORE I WILL HYPERVENTILATE BECAUSE GAAH! HOMEOWNERSHIP IS SCARY!

So yeah, refrigerators. That’s about the only thing on mind because I can’t seem to decide what sort of refrigerator I want for the new house. I thought this would be a fairly easy decision, but no, it’s not. In fact, I think picking a house was easier.

We are learning toward something like this:

04657986000

But we’re not sure if the freezer will have enough room for frozen pizzas which, as it turns out, is paramount. If I can’t put frozen pizzas in the freezer there will be hell to pay. That’s the bottom line.

And then there’s the stainless versus stainless look issue. Everything in the kitchen is stainless or stainless look or something of that sort and now we have to decide what we want the fridge to be which sounds like it would be easy but it’s not. Because stainless shows finger prints and you can’t put magnets on it but it seems like stainless is all the rage right now and since refrigerators just happen to be rather expensive it’s important we make the right decision which only fuels my headache and grouchy outlook.

I can’t believe I just wrote a whole post about refrigerators. sorry. That said, if you have any experience in picking out a refrigerator (or just using a refrigerator) please feel free to lend me any and all advice in this matter before my head explodes.

7 Responses to “Things I think about now that I (almost) own a home”

  1. Ash December 3, 2008 at 3:30 PM #

    Fridge’s are soooo important. Remember, you likely shop at Costco, so there will be boxes of pizza on the large size, and who knows what else. So, be sure the freezer is big enough for a Palermo’s Margarita pizza box from Costco, which I think holds like 5 regular pizzas.

    That’s all I have to say on the subject! 🙂

  2. Ash December 3, 2008 at 3:32 PM #

    And oh yeah, why haven’t you shared all the gory details of your first Thanksgiving cooking experience? Did you get more than two chairs? Inquiring minds want to know!

  3. rachel December 3, 2008 at 5:12 PM #

    true story: when we moved into my house (the one i now don’t live in anymore, gah.) we had a side by side refridge. we could not fit ANYTHING into that stupid freezer and i hated it. so much so that i made a group of boys carry it back down the same two flights of stairs that they had carried it up just like, two days before. then? i bought a new one. one with a freezer on the bottom that pulled out like a drawer. it was the greatest thing i’ve ever owned.

  4. Holly December 4, 2008 at 10:55 AM #

    I like the top freezer, bottom fridge kind myself. Ash makes a good point about Costco-sized things though.

    I can’t stand the fingerprints and scratches that show on stainless.

    Growing up, I remember thinking the in-door water/ice maker was the coolest, fanciest thing ever because we never had one. My parents have a side by side one with it now, but it’s broken.

  5. feetfloorgo December 4, 2008 at 3:18 PM #

    OK, there is simply no contest here. Obviously you must choose the fridge you can put magnets on! Because a fridge just isn’t a fridge without them!

  6. maoyc December 4, 2008 at 3:22 PM #

    Hi,you made the topic very funny!

  7. Michelle December 8, 2008 at 1:23 AM #

    Congratulations on buying your first house!! I know how excited you are because the hubby and I just moved into our first house right before Thanksgiving. We had the same appliance-picking dilemma and went with a fridge very similar to the one you pictured (ours is a GE Eterna) and we’re very happy with it so far. You can’t stick magnets to the front but they will stick to the side.

Leave a Reply

