Saved from the post about the suckiness

8 Dec

Sometimes I amaze myself. I just wrote, and almost posted, a blog post detailing the reasons I hate my job. Hating my job is that thing I didn’t want to talk about on the internets where anyone could come find me because I thought it would be ridiculous to do so but now that it’s Monday, I could care less.  In the midst of writing that post though, I realized I’m being a snot because at least I have a damn job. Lots of people don’t right now and for me to complain is just silly. Plus, and this is the really good news, I GOT THE JOB I APPLIED AND INTERVIEWED FOR A FEW WEEKS AGO. Which means, basically, YAY!

BUT, holy crap is my to-do list full and holy crap are we going to be busy for the entire month of December plus there’s that whole MOVING INTO A NEW HOUSE thing to remember about…here’s just a sample of the tasks I need to complete this week:

  • Say yes to job offer and complete all the necessary paperwork
  •  Become a homeowner on Thrusday and not pull my hair out with absolute fear and terror and excitment and glee
  • Give notice of my intended departure at my current job
  • Make something delicious to take to the holiday social for my husband’s work which will soon also be my work (yes, we’ll be working together)
  • Attend that holiday social on Friday
  • Attend a promotion ceremony on Saturday
  • Buy a refrigerator
  • Make final decisions on paint colors and start painting the house
  • Set up the Christmas tree
  • Start moving our stuff out of the apartment and into the (beautiful and wonderful) house
  • Purchase/make and wrap Christmas gifts
  • Maintain small thread of sanity between all the house-buying, new-job-starting, holiday-festivity-attending, refrigerator-buying insanity

Also, why is every women around me suddenly pregnant? Is it something in the water?  Should I not be drinking the water?  Will the Brita protect me?  I am not in the least bit ready for the babies yet so please, please, don’t let the water be contaminated with pregnancy.

6 Responses to “Saved from the post about the suckiness”

  1. anOCgirl December 8, 2008 at 1:37 PM #

    OMG!!!! congrats on the job! that’s awesome.

    also, i think there is something in the water. in the last month, two of my friends have become pregnant. both in VA. clearly its in the water in VA–a state we both live in. i don’t know about you, but i’m sticking to bottled from now on.

  2. Holly December 8, 2008 at 4:52 PM #

    Don’t drink the waaa-teeer.

    YAYAYAYAY for new job! Also, I thought you had decided I was weird or something bc I hadn’t heard back from you (til I read your email today) so I am relieved.

    You will be a busy bee in December but this is all GREAT STUFF. I am happy to offer coffee breaks or hanging outs or christmas decorating or painting–you just let me know. Also, I’m fully off on “break” from Dec 22-New Years 🙂

  3. Emilie December 8, 2008 at 9:38 PM #

    Congratulations on getting the job! That’s exciting 🙂

    Good luck with the move…I imagine it’s very exciting, but overwhelming too.

  4. Mermanda December 8, 2008 at 10:52 PM #

    Yay! Congrats on your new job! I hope you enjoy working with your hubby.

  5. kirby December 9, 2008 at 6:45 AM #

    ooo Congratulations!!!

    on everything! The house happening this week, the new fancy job, the realisation that it MIGHT be something in the water, The impending fridge ownership!

  6. Alverna December 15, 2008 at 11:57 PM #

    OMG, I’m SOOOOO happy for you guys! Congrats on the job & house & all the house funness!

    Ahhh, homeownership. Get ready to give yourself a hug & pull your hair out all at once!

Leave a Reply

