On woo-ing in the New Year

1 Jan

Yesterday, which started out as 2008 and ended as 2009, was insane.

First, it was my very last day at the old job which made me giddy all day and a little reminiscent at the same time.  I love so many of the people that work there and it was bittersweet to walk out those doors for the last time.  As I got ready for work yesterday I was comforted by the fact that I won’t have to wake up and straighten my hair anymore or put on heels or frustrate myself with the what-to-wear-to-work dilemma anymore.  Working for the Army simplifies that whole process and I’m surprisingly comforted by the fact that I’ll wear my hair the same way every single day and the same outfit every single day.  In fact, I think the look below works pretty well for me:

2691164904_b7a8b97e55

After saying goodbye to everyone at work and rushing home, I helped L & J move.  I’m so happy for them because they’ve managed to escape the claws of this shitty, shitty apartment building (which I’m still living in despite owning a house because painting takes f-o-r-e-v-e-r).  They moved way across town to a lovely apartment that feels more like a home than a dorm.

Unloading the moving truck only took about an hour so we were on our way back home to prepare for our New Year’s Eve festivities pretty quickly.  We got all prettified, my husband convinced me to wear a low-cut shirt I probably haven’t worn in something like four years, and after throwing on layer after layer of warm clothing we walked across downtown Richmond to the bar – McCormack’s – to ring in the new year.  There was much eating and drinking and laughing and good company and while it didn’t feel like New Year’s Eve to a single one of us, we eventually got in the spirit and woo-ed loudly and drank heavily and then ate breakfast, that was served at the bar, like starving, rabid dogs.

The walk home was blessedly uneventful, although we were possibly followed for a ways by a somewhat shady character, although everyone looks shady walking alone at 2 AM on a bridge. Then we got home. And went to the porch.  And we talked to some goofy emo kids who clearly thought they were super cool because they weren’t us.  They were silly and went inside and left the five of us with two guys who were clearly, obviously, blatantly drunk off their asses.  I’m not going to lie, we all had the beers at the bar, but by that point, after walking home in the 20-something degree cold, I was stone cold sober.

So there we were – hanging out the porch, minding our own business when one of the blatantly drunk guys we’ve never seen before walks up behind J as he’s leaning over the edge of the porch, wraps his arms around his shoulder and threatens to throw him over the edge.  Seriously.  And then, there was much yelling.  The two blatantly drunk guys kept saying one of us hit them in the head, which didn’t ever happen, and then one would try to pull the other off and apologize for the drunkenness of the first one and it was ridiculous, and scary, and for the first time in over a year that I’ve lived here, I was a little worried about my safety.  There was much yelling, much getting in the faces of others and both the guys ended up shoving both me and L, which really just shocked the shit out of all of us and pissed the guys off further.  I mean really, how dumb do you have to be to start a fight with five people when you’re just a group of two and then have the nerve to push the females for absolutely no reason.

We called the cops and while no blows were thrown it was very close to that and had we not been a group of mellow, not looking to get in a fight three hours into the new year group, things could have ended very differently.

After physically pushing the douche bags off the porch, and while both worried for our safety and the validity of the drunk guy’s threats that they were armed with things that go bang bang, we went upstairs to D’s apartment and waited until the cops called to let us know they were out front.  So down we went.  The cops said they couldn’t do anything, but inferred that if we had any more problems with them, we should just say screw it and beat the piss out of them.  Which was comforting because that’s what we all wanted to do in the first place but for some reason, we choose to be level headed and didn’t throw them off the porch.  Stupid logic.

And now it’s 2009 and I’m so, so, so comforted by the fact that I don’t have to live here much longer.  And really, despite the insanity of the porch last night, it was still fun and I’m more than ready to see what 2009 holds.

Happy New Year!

6 Responses to “On woo-ing in the New Year”

  1. Nicki Fellenzer January 1, 2009 at 6:34 PM #

    Happy New Year, T! Hope 2009 is even better than 2008.

  2. Ash January 1, 2009 at 8:47 PM #

    Happy New Year you two and Sadie-dog!

    I’m relieved to hear things last night turned out okay, sort of – at least no one got hurt, and I didn’t get a call from you at 4am saying come bail me out of jail! 🙂

    Sounds like the idiots were both really stupid & really drunk to take on you and the porch crew – and glad you will be moving to your lovely new home very soon. It seems like such a nice neighborhood, too – don’t let A.’s family come down or they will really really be pressuring you for grandkids! (It just seemed like a great neighborhood for raising kids, as opposed to the apartment by the treatment plant…) And T., no pressure from me on that issue, okay – just so happy to see you so happy and so blessed after so much shit.

    Here’s hoping 2009 will be just as wonderful and full of blessings as 2008 was!

    Love you guys!

  3. anOCgirl January 1, 2009 at 8:57 PM #

    yay for last day at old job and fun NYE festivities! happy new year!

  4. racheliza January 1, 2009 at 10:15 PM #

    first things first. you’re adorable. now, happy 2009!!! weeee! i’m so happy for you and all of the amazing things that are coming your way. new house, new job… life is amazing. sorry your NYE was all drama-filled, that’s no bueno. the rest of 2009 will make up for it, for sure. 🙂

    xoxox

  5. Holly January 2, 2009 at 1:44 AM #

    Wow, that was eventful! Glad everything went okay. I for once was thankful not to have any of my own drama last night (tho some others did).

  6. kirby January 3, 2009 at 4:15 AM #

    there are always idiots on NYE.. Glad you all got out of it without being tossed off a porch.

    happy new year, Terra!

Leave a Reply

