I’m usually quite punctual

8 Jan

Oh right – I have a blog.  Sorry.  I forgot about that.  I was busy.  I got all sneezy for a few days and then, drumroll please, I started the new job and LOVE THE HELL OUT OF IT.  For reals.  It’s the best job ever and I’m waiting for someone to pop out of nowhere and pull the plug on the whole thing because my job seems more like play than work and I feel kinda like I’m getting over.  It’s awesome.

But the real thing I want to write about is 2008.  I know we’re a week into 2009 but let’s just say I needed time to mull over my thoughts on ’08.

January
Got married! In Vegas! Cruised around the Caribbean! Spent time being adorable and sickening with my super awesome and brand spankin’ new spouse! All in all, a damn good way to start the new year.

February
Moved across the hall to an apartment with windows and then had to make massive curtains to cover said windows.  And that was about it.  I’m sure there was more lovey dovey we-just-got-married-and-are-the-cutest-people-in-the-world stuff going on as well, but other than that, I’m pretty sure we just sat on our butts.

March
There was a Freedom Salute.  It was fun and rather like a family reunion, only an Army family reunion, which is probably better than a normal family reunion.  Then, I turned 24 and hated it and there was much grumpiness throughout our home.  Andrew left and got me flowers and a cake though and that made everything better.  Plus, he’s much older (3.5 years is like, totally for-evah) and his life hasn’t suddenly ended so I think I gave up hating life and got the hell over it. And then, we became Volkswagen people.

April
We got the dog. And our lives became jam-packed with such fun activities as picking dog fur out of our food, cleaning up dog piss, sweeping up dog hair at least five times a day, getting mushed when sleeping my a HuskyMutt and falling deeply in love with a very silly dog.  I also got a job, which was a plus, and I loved it in the beginning because it was new! and shiny!

May
I celebrated five years in the Army and magically got friends.  Porch friends. Best friends.

June
Found a hawk, got the FIOS, the AC in the apartment died completely,  signed up for six more years in the Army, got promoted, flew to Michigan for a wedding, and spent two weeks playing Army.  It was a busy month.

July
With summer officially on, the porch crew hang-outs became mandatory and we went to the river a lot and started realizing that we are awesome together and should never be parted from each other.

August
There were the Olympics! Which was awesome as all hell.  And porch shenanigans.  There’s always porch shenanigans.

September
Right around September I went from amped about the election to WICKEDLY AND SUPERBLY AMPED about the election.  Which was awesome, because I’ve never gotten like that over anything even remotely related to politcs.  I got called the “voting lady.”  All in all, a great way to start the fall.

October
The beach.  That’s what I think of when I think of October – one hell of a beach weekend with the best porch friends a girl could ever have. And Halloween!

November
VICTORY! Obama won the race and my blood pressure chilled the hell out.  I put a contract in on a house. I met my first bloggie friend. L left for Basic Training and I missed her like crazy and, for the first time ever, I made Thanksgiving dinner.

December
I BOUGHT A HOUSE! Plus there was holiday goodness and L came home just long enough for me to get used to having her around.

2008 rocked.  I know just about everyone else had a crappy year, but 2008, in my little life bubble, was bad-ass.  Undeniably I’m scared that 2009 is going to suck, but so far, so good.

5 Responses to “I’m usually quite punctual”

  1. Holly January 8, 2009 at 1:57 PM #

    I am superexcited that I got a mention, hee.

    Can’t wait to see new house more done! Still need painting help? Or just wanna porchsit on your NEW porch?

  2. titus2woman January 8, 2009 at 4:10 PM #

    I am SO HAPPY to hear about your wonderful new job! WOOHOOO! and this is an awesome refresher of last year. I so enjoyed catching up with ya today~and LOVE the pics of the house! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  3. rachel January 9, 2009 at 2:10 AM #

    you had an insanely amazing 2008. i really hope your 2009 tops it. xoxo

  4. anOCgirl January 9, 2009 at 10:08 AM #

    wow! what a year! and i’m so happy to hear you love your new job.

  5. nicoleantoinette January 11, 2009 at 2:23 PM #

    I would like to have a 2009 that’s as awesome as your 2008!

Leave a Reply

