But they can see me!

11 Feb

Okay.  We’ve been the new house for a few weeks now.  We’re getting settled.  Kinda. With the exception of our kitchen, every single room in this house of ours has boxes in it.  Still.  It’s slowly making me insane, but what else is new? 

For the most part, we love the house.  It’s just that when you buy house you have to do stuff.  Lots and lots and lots of stuff.  Some expensive stuff, some time-consuming stuff, some annoying stuff, and, lucky us, some fun stuff. 

One of the things we haven’t gotten around to doing is putting up blinds on all the windows because there are a million damn windows in this house and that junk takes time.  For reals.  Now I, being all paranoid and suspicious,  am constantly freaking out about the neighbors peeking in my windows at all hours of the day and night.  I’m not sure why I’m afraid they’re going to see me sitting at the computer working or walking through the living room, but just the very thought that I could be seen! by people! freaks the hell out of me. 

I know that it’s daylight out right now and that people probably can’t see me but – and this is the one and only point I have to make – our across the street neighbor keeps going out on his porch and sitting there and I swear he’s trying to look in my windows.  Or it’s a super nice day out and he’s just enjoying the weather but the paranoia – it won’t let me think nice thoughts like that and instead turns me into a raving lunatic who keeps sneaking peaks out her windows to see if “that guy” is looking.  Plus, I’ve never seen him before.  Although I have only lived here a few weeks so that could be why I’ve never seen him before, or, it could be because he’s suspicious. 

The crazy – I has it.

4 Responses to “But they can see me!”

  1. Margaret February 11, 2009 at 4:35 PM #

    It would freak me too.
    Put up the comics from the paper – my sister did that – or sheets – we did that.

  2. Holly February 12, 2009 at 9:39 AM #

    Daytime wouldn’t bother me as much, but I can’t stand big dark gaping windows looking at me at night.

    Let’s get together, soon yes? Even if it’s just unpacking boxes. I like your new house.

  3. Ash February 13, 2009 at 5:31 PM #

    Maybe you should walk across the street, being the tough and brave army woman you are (no, not being sarcastic – I mean it! You are tough and brave!), and introduce yourself to your new neighbor – maybe he’s just curious in a natural sort of way about who lives across the street from him…
    😉

  4. titus2woman February 24, 2009 at 9:52 AM #

    I used to look out of our windows all.the.time. I’m sure the neighbors thought I was nuts, but we had been broken into so many times that I couldn’t help myself. Especially in the middle of the night.

    It used to be that everyone on our streen would sit on their porches and enjoy the weather and shoot the breeze. I miss that! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

