Things that make me scream WTF!?

23 Feb

So there I was, driving around Richmond, listening to the radio when this DJ came on and started talking about the Chris Brown beating the hell out of Rhianna thing. This was right after he issued his statement of apology or whatever the hell it was. And then, the FEMALE DJ said, “It’s okay Chris, we understand! Everyone makes mistakes, we still love you! You shouldn’t be punished by your fans for this little slip-up.”

And that’s when I started cussing at the radio.

I just don’t get it. People are talking about pressing charges against Michael Phelps because he got caught smoking a bong and yet here you have this young guy who CHOKES OUT this young woman and it’s all cool.  We all make mistakes.  Except for no – most of us don’t end up beating the hell out of the people we love and care about.  Most of us don’t solve our problems with violence.  And no, we don’t still love you Chris Brown because domestic violence isn’t okay and it’s certainly not something you, or any man, should get away with.  

I guess I was just shocked that a fellow woman could easily and simply forgive a man for a crime that I view as absolutely 100% unforgivable.  What the hell is wrong with us if we consider domestic violence a  minor mistake and yet condemn an athlete for partying a little too hard?

Society = Fail.  Of epic proportions.

6 Responses to “Things that make me scream WTF!?”

  1. Shaba February 23, 2009 at 12:47 PM #

    Wow. Just wow.
    I’m going to think that the dj meant it sarcastically (though I know she didn’t) because it makes me feel better.

    I’m also mad at the media about this case…since when is it ok to publish the name of a victim? Regardless of her fame, she deserves privacy as well.

  2. Holly February 23, 2009 at 1:58 PM #

    Good point about the comparison with Michael Phelps. This kind of thing makes me really angry too.

  3. Mermanda February 23, 2009 at 2:37 PM #

    Holy shit. That’s terrible. That DJ should have her head examined.

  4. anOCgirl February 27, 2009 at 9:37 AM #

    oooh…new format. nice!

    so umm the whole chris brown thing has completely pissed me off and made me worry about young girls (chris brown fans) who will grow up to think domestic violence is ok if your partner is hot. i’ve read many blogs posts and articles about this and most of the comments suggest that rihanna had it coming.

    except there’s NEVER an excuse for a man to beat a woman. NEVER.

    the victim blaming here is ridiculous and outright awful.

  5. anOCgirl February 27, 2009 at 9:38 AM #

    in that last sentence, when i said ‘here’ i meant ‘in the interwebs’ not this blog.

    no victim blaming here. 🙂

  6. Alverna March 2, 2009 at 1:41 PM #

    Amen sister!

    Did you hear she took him back?!? The whole situation makes my blood boil every time I think about it! And it just gets worse and worse!!

Leave a Reply

