Little bits of myself

11 Mar

It’s amazing the things I’ve found since moving.  The move itself was all about throwing things in boxes and getting out of dodge but the unpacking has been quite the opposite. We’ve been here well over a month now and still, our dining room is mostly just an office with an undersized dining table and four boxes I don’t want to go through.  The perk to a leisurley unpacking process is that I get to rediscover bits and pieces of my life through various, and often totally random, items. 

A few days ago I discovered my jewelry.  Shocking, I know.  It had been uncerimoniously thrown into a bag and then thrown into a box and then thrown onto a moving truck.  It was in one of the boxes that never got unpacked at the apartment andI haven’t looked in the bag in at least year.  To my surprise, unraveling the knots in my necklaces took me on a nice little trip down memory lane. 

I found the chain I used to wear attached to my wallet in high school.  I stopped wearing it after I joined the Army.  (That’s a whole other post about how I haven’t worn muh jewelry at all since I left for basic all those many years ago and that maybe the Army totaly stole my personal style and left me feeling all out of wack…or I’m just having a quarter-life crisis since tomorrow I’ll be exactly a quarter of a century.)

I found the prom jewelry which caused me to suddenly realize high school was a forever ago and wow – look how far I’ve come.  But really, when did high school get so far away? 

There was the gift jewelry – things I’d recieved from family, ex-boyfriends, friends.

It’s interesting that certain pieces of jewelry can  define whole eras of my childhood, adolescense and early adulthood.  And then I wonder – in another ten years what wil I have to remember myself by?  The only thing I wear regularly is my wedding ring and the same bracelet I’ve been wearing since….ummm….since before I can remember (seriously, I thikn the last time I took it off was when I got married and even then I put it right back on my wrist before I went to sleep that night). 

Also, and this is slightly embarrassing, I totally wore (regularly) a spiked leather dog collar I got at petsmart when I was 15.  It’s possible I took myself a little too seriously.

3 Responses to “Little bits of myself”

  1. Alverna March 11, 2009 at 7:38 PM #

    Terra – HAPPY, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!! 🙂

    I hope you’re having a wonderful day full of happiness.

  2. Valerie March 12, 2009 at 8:01 AM #

    We still have boxes in our dining room and we moved into our house LAST AUGUST.

    Happy Birthday, Terra Bear-a!

  3. anOCgirl March 13, 2009 at 9:15 AM #

    you wore a spiked dog leather collar? umm…photos please!

Leave a Reply

