We can chaaaaange the world*

24 Mar

One of my most favoritest bloggers, Nicole from More is Better, just started a super fabulous project for 20-somethings. Like many of us, Nicole was frustrated by everyone else’s attempt at defining Generation Y:

I’m tired of the 20-something stereotype.  I’m tired of the assumptions that because we’re young, we don’t care.  We do care, maybe more than anyone else I’ve ever met.  We know that today’s world is ours to better, that we’ll be the ones inheriting the problems and therefore need to work as hard as we can to find solutions.  We know that small actions can have big results, and that each individual voice only gets stronger when it’s joined by another voice, and another voice, and that it doesn’t take too many voices to sound a deafening call to action.

Nicole came to the conclusion, one I wholeheartedly agree with, that Gen. Y shouldn’t be defined without taking a close look at how we impact the world around us.  There are 20-somethings the world over striving to make the world a better place and Nicole’s creation, HandsIn, gives those 20-somethings a place to get together, discuss what they’re doing, what they want to do, and how they’re helping to make the world a beter place.

Personally, I’m a huge fan of this project.  I think it ‘s a great idea and in a world where social networking is quickly becoming a way of life, I think a place to network with others who are not just interested in changing the world, but who are also tied to each other through a common generation is just simply brilliant.

Cheers to you Nicole!

* I love me some Crosby, Still, Nash & (sometimes) Young

One Response to “We can chaaaaange the world*”

  1. nicoleantoinette April 5, 2009 at 10:13 PM #

    Oops, I never thanked you for this lovely post. You’re so wonderful and I’m really glad you’ve been so active on the site!

Leave a Reply

