My crunchy is showing

25 Mar

It is a fact that lawn mowers hate me.  I can never get them to start, no matter how much gusto I use in pulling that starter string thing. They just plain hate me.  Furthermore, I think they might be a tid bit sexist as it’s inevitable that some guy walks up, pulls the stupid string starter thing after I’ve been trying for 30 minutes and then viola! It starts!

I hate them.  They hate me.  It’s a part of life.  Whatever.

But we bought a house in December and because we have a yard and because it’s spring (or at least it was – these recent cold temperatures have me second guessing that whole spring thing) and because we have (in certain spots) psycho grass that grows like there’s no tomorrow, it recently became apparent that we would need to purchase a lawn mower.  But I hate them, passionately, and so we bought this one:

3382912519_9f9666edf4

(My husband is adorable and has totally fallen in love with the newest addition to tool collection.)

It’s a reel mower, meaning it’s powered by people and not gasoline or electricity. It does not have a starter string thingy to piss me off. It will not flaunt it’s disdain toward me while making googly eyes at my husband because it doesn’t have a motor and thus isn’t an asshole.

I was scared to buy this thing.  I spent hours on the internets looking at comparisons between reel mowers and asshole mowers.  I was afraid it would not cut my grass.  But lo and behold, this thing, my greenest purchase yet, rocks.  It’s not the best for super high grass but assuming we mow regularly (and we will), it does a fine job.  It’s ferocious.  I don’t have to put oil in it.  I don’t have to put gas in it.  I don’t have to curse it’s existence every time I use it because it’s nice. It’s efficient. It’s better for the environment and, according to some sources, better for my grass because it cuts the tops off instead of BRUTALLY RIPPING THE TOPS OFF like those other mowers.

Best of all, it’s still makes just enough noise to freak out SadieMutt.

5 Responses to “My crunchy is showing”

  1. nicoleantoinette March 25, 2009 at 10:26 PM #

    Can you believe I’ve never used a lawn mower? Ever?

  2. anOCgirl March 26, 2009 at 9:19 AM #

    i’ve never used a lawn mower (reel or asshole) so i’m impressed that you have. kudos to you for going green!

  3. Mermanda March 26, 2009 at 12:28 PM #

    I want one too!

  4. Alverna March 26, 2009 at 8:06 PM #

    I LOVE it! We had an old, rusty, clanky reel mower growing up, and we thought it was the coolest thing ever.

    BTW, I actually like mowing the grass and (suprisingly) usually don’t have trouble getting the lawnmower started, BUT….I ALWAYS end up with blisters. Even if I don’t mow the whole lawn. Which hurts (a little) and makes my husband laugh at me (a lot). So, yes, conventional lawnmowers are basically assholes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2009: A Time to Nestle « questionable rationale - January 1, 2010

    […] In March, it snowed more than I ever remember it snowing in Richmond. But just like that, it was gone. I turned 25 and, for the first time in almost a decade, I didn’t want to ignore my birthday. In one of my most crunchy moments, we bought a reel lawnmower. […]

Leave a Reply

