The living room.

14 Apr

Disclaimer: the living room, like the rest of my house, is a work in progress.  There are still eleventy billion things I want to do but since we’ve made some considerable progress recently, I felt like sharing.  Additionally, there aren’t any visible dog-hair tumbleweeds blowing through the living room in these pictures and that’s a damn good accomplishment.

Once upon a time, before the invasion of clutter and dog fur, the living room (as viewed from our foyer) looked like this:

stp85682It was beige. The fireplace was painted the same color as our front door. Oddly enough, that color works on our front door but should NEVER EVER EVER EVER have been put on the fireplace.  I would like to bitch smack whoever made that horrible decision because it real life it made the fireplace look like it was made out of fake brick and really, that’s just not okay. Also, viewed from the foyer, my living room looks like a face.  Creepy.

These days, after 2 coats of yellow paints on the wall, 2 coats of white on the fireplace, constant head scratching, the purchase of 1/2 of couch (we already had the chase and it just made sense to put the love seat that goes with it rather than spending twice as much money on a totally brand spankin’ new couch) and some bookcases, it looks more like this:

1

Better, yes?

Eventually the clutter on top of the bookcases will be replaced with pretty things that I have yet to find and I’m thinking doors should be added as well to cover the DVDs and boardgames and stuff that I’ve filled those shelves with.  Personally, I’d rather not look at it.  Also, I’m off the opinion we need something big and dramatic over the fireplace because that little post chillin’ up there now just isn’t cutting it.

Viewed from the dining room side, it looks like this:

2

Not so exciting yet because it’s so empty, but still, it’s a vast improvement from the disaster it was last week.  We still need to get a coffee table (we’re thinking round) and a side table of some sort.

3440900201_1418aeb14d The biggest project will happen, soonish, in this corner.  We’re going to put in a built in for the TV and all that jazz.  I absolutely cannot wait but the whole trying to find a carpenter and trying not to vomit at the thought of spending so much money has been a little difficult.

So far, I’m pretty happy with it.  It’s very us and that’s really what matters in a house. I’m looking forward to adding things to it, building upon the base that we finally have set up in there.

Also, I AM SO SORE! Seeing as we’re going to the beach this weekend, the husband and I have spent the last few weeks kicking up our exercise routines and today I feel broken.  I just have to keep reminding myself that the pain means I built muscle and yay! muscle!

3 Responses to “The living room.”

  1. feetfloorgo April 16, 2009 at 4:37 PM #

    Holy crap it looks awesome! It is my absolute dream to have a fireplace and to have bookshelves on either side of it. I am so jealous.

  2. Ash April 17, 2009 at 3:29 PM #

    I like – a LOT! I didn’t think I would, with the yellow walls and all, but the fireplace side looks so nice now! The other side does need some decoration, but I’m confident you’ll get it looking perfect eventually. Have a great weekend at the beach!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2009: A Time to Nestle « questionable rationale - January 1, 2010

    […] suicide, as I have every year for the past nine years.  We got a few steps closer to having an actual living room, but it still wasn’t quite finished.  We went to the Outer Banks for a much-needed […]

Leave a Reply

