Beach

21 Apr

beach1

We drove down on Thursday night to the Outer Banks.  On the list of reasons why I love living in Richmond, being three hours from one of the best, most chill beaches on the East Coast ranks pretty high.

beach21

Friday, before everyone got down there and when it was just me, the husband and D., we piled into the car and drove, with the windows down and the Into the Wild soundtrack blasting, to Hatteras to see the light house down there.  It was at this point that I marveled at the feeling of relaxation that magically appeared.  I’d forgotten what it felt like.

3464129526_ac224634bf

It was so cold in the water that it took me five trips into the water in order to pee.  I was entirely too lazy to walk back to the beach house and, at the urging of the boys, and because its the ocean which is big and huge and full of salt, I convinced myself I could pee in the ocean.  But it was cold and every time the water hit my butt it scared the pee and so really, what should have been a 30 second process, took about five minutes.  By the end of the ordeal, I couldn’t feel my legs.

beach4

We sound some amazing things down there and almost got washed away by the crashing waves.  It was pretty crazy.

beach5

This dog, Ms. EvaDog, is the dog we almost adopted.  Luckily, our friend D. has adopted her and since he’d only had her a week, he decided to bring her down to the beach with him.  As it turns out, digging is something she enjoys, as is flinging sand all over me and my beach towel.

beach6

After spending the weekend with two fabulous rescue greyhounds, I have decided that our next dog will be a greyhound. They let us freakin’ bury them! How cool is that!?

beach7

I want to go back.

5 Responses to “Beach”

  1. Mermanda April 21, 2009 at 7:08 PM #

    I WANT MY GREYHOUND NOW!

  2. GMan April 22, 2009 at 8:23 AM #

    I absolutely love the Outer Banks. We stay just north of Duck and it is so relaxing. My dad owns a place in Jersey now and since it is free we generally go there but OBX is amazing!

  3. Holly April 22, 2009 at 1:22 PM #

    OMG, I am snorting about the buried greyhounds! hahahaha. Check your email, I sent you something! 🙂 God, I can’t wait to go to the beach. Do you have friends with a beach house in the OB?

  4. anOCgirl April 23, 2009 at 9:07 AM #

    that greyhound photo is priceless!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2009: A Time to Nestle « questionable rationale - January 1, 2010

    […] a few steps closer to having an actual living room, but it still wasn’t quite finished.  We went to the Outer Banks for a much-needed vacation.  Then, there were the baby robins, and, of course, the baby rats I […]

Leave a comment