Things I’ve done in the past 5 days

6 May
  • Climbed a 200 foot spiral staircase in order to shoot video of door gunners shooting targets out of helicopters.  It was badass to watch, but scary as hell to climb up the spiral staircase with a tripod, a camera, and a fear of shaking things that are very far off the ground.  I don’t recommed it.
  • Ate an insane amount of Kentucky Fried Chicken.  I am very aware of their evilness, but  sometimes the ease that comes with a bucket of chicken wins out over level of evilness.
  • Took an army physical fitness test that almost broke me and proved I need to get back on the workout bandwagon in bigger and better ways because it’s May and I would really like to look wicked* hot in a bathing suit come June.
  • Spent an insane amount of time waiting around for people who should really learn how to get things done in a more efficient and practical manner because WHEN YOU JERK MY SOLDIERS AROUND, YOU INADVERTENTLY JERK ME AROUND AND I JUST DON’T STAND FOR THAT SHIT AND WILL UNDOUBTEDLY END UP WRITING NASTY THINGS ABOUT YOU IN ALL CAPS YOU JACKASS.  As far as I’m concerned, when people need help from you, even if you are very busy with whatever shit you are working on, you should at least ask them what they need and then tell them if you can help them or not.  Do not make them sit around and wait for you for over two hours and then tell them you are useless (I’m paraphrasing here) and that you can’t help them.  That is shit and not acceptable.
  • Found out my darling sweet husband might be going to France for D-Day because my National Guard unit played a pretty big part in that whole storming the beaches of Normandy thing.  Am crazy jealous.
  • Went to the Worldwide Public Affairs Symposium in Northern Virginia where I learned all about the Army’s desire to get all up on the social media platforms and get the Army story out.  It was absolutely fabulous to see very (and when I say very, I mean LIKE CRAZY VERY) important people talk about how important it is to use social media in our day to day lives, not just for ourselves, but for our Army organizations as well.  Basically, I gained more fuel for the argument that all I should have to do on any given day is look around on twitter and facebook and flickr because it’s very, very important because they said so.
  • Ate entirely too much food.
  • Realized that when people say things like “get over it” I flip the fuck out.
  • Realized I am having a very hard time trying to figure out who I want to be as a blogger and thus my content bounces from one thing to the next without any real consistency.  I’m part wife, part feminist, part Soldier, part activist and finding the balance is something I simply cannot seem to do.  Basically, I’m 25 and still very much learning who I am and what I am about.
  • Missed the hell out of SadieMutt.

*You would think I hail from New England, but no, I don’t.  For some reason, I use typically New England words like “wicked” right along very Southern words like “ya’ll.” I am the ultimate oxymoron.

2 Responses to “Things I’ve done in the past 5 days”

  1. Holly May 7, 2009 at 10:21 AM #

    This post makes me jealous of your job/life right now, but in a good way, like, I-need-to-hang-out-with-Terra more bc she is cool.

    Ps., i also need to up the gym ante bc I don’t like feeling not strong and would also like to look wicked-hot in a bathing suit for my beach trip in June.

  2. anOCgirl May 10, 2009 at 8:02 AM #

    I’m part wife, part feminist, part Soldier, part activist and finding the balance is something I simply cannot seem to do.

    do you need to find balance as a blogger? why can’t you be all of those things in your blog as you are in real life?

    my blog started out as a way to keep up with friends in california. 3 years later, every other post is political b/c i’ve become more passionate about politics. my blog has evolved as i have and i like that i’ve been able to chronicle these changes in my life.

Leave a Reply

