Regaining Self Control

9 May

Last Friday we quit smoking.  Finally.

We’d been talking about it forever. Then the taxes on tobacco products doubled. Then our boss gave us shit about it and then someone told us that smoking is nothing more than a lack of self control.  And I agree.  So we quit.  Cold turkey.  No patches, no pills, no nothing. Last Thursday we were smokers, and then on Friday we weren’t.

I realize now it’s not so much the addiction that’s the problem, although for the first few days it absolutely sucks, but it’s the breaking the habit that’s the real hard part. I’m trying to break a 10 year habit. TEN YEARS.  Last night, hanging out on a porch with friends who smoke, I didn’t want a cigarette but I felt so out of place not having one because usually, I do.  Stupid habits.

And now I’m fighting the urge to turn on the AC. We’re trying so hard to be green and save money on things like cold air, but it’s absolutely miserable upstairs and I’m not sure I’m gonna make it.  I have to keep reminding myself of how much I LOVE getting low electric bills and hopefully that will get me through the heat and the ickiness.

7 Responses to “Regaining Self Control”

  1. Liz May 9, 2009 at 11:01 PM #

    I, too, am quitting soon. I start the process of quitting on June 12th. Yay! Hope everything is going well! Miss you!

  2. anOCgirl May 10, 2009 at 7:56 AM #

    good for you!

  3. Holly May 11, 2009 at 2:30 PM #

    Congrats on quitting.

    If I have learned anything living in VA, it’s that AC is not a necessity. And I’m always cold. Sure, you don’t have to run it at 62, but when it’s in the 90s outside, it’s going to be hot inside, and there’s no reason you should be miserable. You can be green and save energy in other ways.

  4. Holly May 11, 2009 at 2:30 PM #

    Okay, edit to my last post:

    It SHOULD say, “that AC is not a luxury, it is a necessity.”

  5. picturesandpostits May 12, 2009 at 8:54 AM #

    oh heat! how i miss you!

    I am the only person in my family that has never smoked.
    Go You for giving it up!

  6. titus2woman May 14, 2009 at 4:54 PM #

    GO GIRL! and I have been trying with the A/C as well… I do fine until bed. I just CAN NOT SLEEP if it’s too hot! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2009: A Time to Nestle « questionable rationale - January 1, 2010

    […] was a busy month. We planted a peach tree named Clara and finally quit smoking.  Then we planted a garden full of sweet-smelling herbs and promising veggies. I celebrated my […]

Leave a Reply

