Because I’m really not much of a rule breaker

14 May

I think 2009 needs to be, among other things, the year of  me getting organized.

There are not enough minutes in each day for me to accomplish the hundreds of things I want/need to do and without some sort of organizational scheme, it’s quite possible I’m going to lose my mind, assuming, of course, that I haven’t already.

So, new rule #1: Focus on one room at a time. There’s too many rooms in this house to bounce back and forth and if we keep doing that, we’re never going to get the house to the point we want it to be at. BUT, if we focus on ONE room at a time, things might actually get done. We’ve recently declared the living room will be the starting point seeing as we still don’t have a TV in there and rarely use it because a.) we need to get an outlet installed that we can plug the TV into, and b.) there isn’t anywhere to put the TV on. SO, today we’re handing over a down payment to a carpenter who is going to build us the super MacDaddy of built-in TV cabinets.

New rule #2: Start monthly to-do lists. I really like checking things off lists. Like a lot. It’s one of my favorite things in the whole world. From now on, the first of every month I’m going to post my monthly to-do list. Hopefully this will help me feel less overwhelmed and more organized.

New rule #3: Do something fun every month with my hubs. Richmond is a really cool city. There are a million and one things to do in this city and the husband and I are CONSTANTLY talking about all the things we’d like to do. Problem is, we never actually get around to doing them. I’m thinking we need to set aside one day a month to go explore something new in this fine city of ours before we’re in our 90s and still talking about all those things we need to go see one day.

3 Responses to “Because I’m really not much of a rule breaker”

  1. Holly May 15, 2009 at 12:30 PM #

    What are you doing this weekend? I’m free Fri and Sat nights for gettings together.

    Also have you read http://unclutterer.com/? I find it very helpful for organizing ideas.

  2. titus2woman May 17, 2009 at 2:20 AM #

    I am in the exact same boat. ~sigh~ NO FUN! but slowly, and I do mean s-l-o-w-l-y, things are shaping up here and there. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  3. Margaret May 17, 2009 at 1:28 PM #

    Great plan, especially the time with Hubs. If you finish the house, but the relationship is down the tubes, you won’t have a HOME. Also, check out
    http://www.flylady.net She encourages us to take things in small increments of time and helps us focus on one area, rather than trying to do everything in one day.

    You’re an awesome gal.

Leave a Reply

