It’s good to know people

26 May

Every now and then I get all mopey because my husband signed up two of my closest, bestest friends for the Army and they are currently far, far away. TWO of them. It was hard enough when it was just one, especially because that one was the only other girl in our little group of maniacs, but now that it’s TWO it’s even harder.

BUT (there’s always a but), since the second friend left, the husband and I have been able to become better friends with his (the absent friend’s) best friend. AND, that friend knows how to do electrical type things that make my life easier and less expensive.  Add on top of that the other friend who didn’t go off and join the Army and who might just be the most handy person in the entire world, and you’ve got one hell of a successful weekend/Memorial Day.

Because of these friends we were able to:

1. Move a light switch. We’re having this built-in thing installed soonish for our TV in our living room because really, there’s no other place to put it and the light switch was in the way and, amazingly, this friend of ours can do things like move light switches.  Which I find amazing.  I count myself as pretty darn handy but I am absolutely TERRIFIED of doing anything having to do with electrical type shocky things.  After he finished installing it and went outside to turn the power on and when the light worked I was SO happy I almost cried. Also, amazingly, no one was electrocuted! Success!

and 2. Hang up the giant mirror in our dining room.  We’ve had this mirror since BEFORE we moved in.  I think we bought it in December, probably about a full month before moving in and now, finally, it’s up.  We could have done it ourselves, but first we had to do some research on how to hang giant 40 lb. mirrors up on plaster walls and then, because he was here because it was his birthday, our friend helped us. Because he is smart and handy and works as an elevator mechanic and thus has the knowledge of hanging things.

In addition to that stuff we also managed to:

  • Mow the lawn and weedwhip it and make it all purdy like.
  • Stay in bed almost all day Saturday except for the bit where my husband made me go to the doctor where they once again informed me that I am sick.  Woo-hoo.
  • Do some very necessary shopping at Target which then enabled us to do a slight overhaul of our downstairs bathroom which now looks much more posh and much less starving 20-something.
  • Hang up something like 15 pictures that had been sitting in the back room of our house for the past four months.
  • Move the treadmill.
  • Hang up the curtains I got for my birthday (March 12) in the dining room.
  • Pick up a bed for the guest bedroom, thus making it a guest bedroom and not a big empty room with some paint cans in it.

The husband recently informed me his BFF and his BFF’s bride are coming to stay in June. It might just be the jump-start I need to start getting the house presentable.

3 Responses to “It’s good to know people”

  1. Margaret May 26, 2009 at 4:12 PM #

    You are an excellent word-smith 🙂 Love your stories.

  2. emiliemarie May 26, 2009 at 10:52 PM #

    I’ve always liked reading your blog, but I’m finding your house stories especially fascinating right now. I’m in the process of buying a house and I’m getting some great insight into home ownership from you, so thanks!

  3. nicoleantoinette May 27, 2009 at 1:49 AM #

    Your blog makes me momentarily wish I were more domestic 🙂

Leave a Reply

