The truth about Koalas

27 May

I got a postcard from K in Australia today! I LOOOOOOVE getting mail that’s actual correspondence and not bills/junk because people just don’t do that sort of thing anymore with that whole email thing and whatnot and mail is just plain neat!

As K. promised, the postcard had koalas on it:

dog

The postcard also had a note to “Say ‘hi’ to HuskyMutt” on it and, as it turns out, HuskyMutt likes postcards AND koalas. She’s also pretty excited that people in far away places know about her.  I could tell by the way she yawned at me.

I have a special place in my heart for koalas because, when I was little, I had a stuffed koala bear (I know they’re not really bears – shud up) and it was one of my most favoritest stuffed critters.  In fact, it’s still in the closet at my mother’s house.  I’m sure I had a name for it and given my propensity for naming things exactly what they are, it was probably something really unique like “Koala.” Seriously, that HuskyMutt answers to “Dog” better than she does her actual name and while Mrs. Robin was nesting on our porch (she, and her babies flew the coop a few weeks ago),  I called her “Bird.” I’m super creative.

Anyway, my point is, according to K., who is a real live Australian and knows about things like this, says koalas actually smell terrible.  Which is good to know, even if it does kinda break my heart because even though I know they are mean sometimes, I’ve always wanted to snuggle one. But now that I know they can be both mean and stinky, I’m not so interested in that snuggle thing anymore and will instead continue to keep all snuggles safe and fresh-smelling in my imagination.

2 Responses to “The truth about Koalas”

  1. kirby May 28, 2009 at 5:40 AM #

    I might’ve squealed a little bit when I saw this….
    AWESOME

  2. anOCgirl May 29, 2009 at 9:18 AM #

    despite what i’ve just read here, i still believe that koalas are nice, cuddly, and smell like roses! 🙂

Leave a Reply

