Quit smoking, now eating.

2 Jun

I’ve managed to rack up quite a few food cravings since I quit smoking.  I’m not entirely sure the cravings and the quitting are related, or maybe I just notice them more now that I’m not smoking all the time.  Or maybe since my taste buds have grown back, they are more forceful in their demands.

cheddarThis stuff breaks my heart.  I love it.  It is the bestest mac and cheese in the entire world as far as I’m concerned.  But it’s $1.79.  And Kraft Blue Box is $0.79. And so I have the guilt because do I really need to spend two dollars on mac and cheese that I’m going to scarf down without tasting in about 3 seconds because it’s so good that I just want to inhale it and then lick the bowl clean? No.  Probably not.  Yet every time I go to the grocery store I stare at it, hoping it’s on sale or that a coupon will magically appear because coupons make everything better.

blueberryThat there is a blueberry bagel with butter.  I love the alliteration and I love the bagel.  There’s something about butter and blueberries and delicious starchy goodness all rolled into one horrible-for-you breakfast that just makes me smile.  Up until today I was hiding the bagels behind the lunch meats in the fridge hoping my husband wouldn’t discover them, but alas, he came downstairs when  I was making one and then, because he’s evil, asked me were they were and out of guilt I had to show him. Then he had a bagel too and now there’s one less blueberry bagel that I won’t get to eat.  I should have told him I had the last one.

pepperoniThis is what I usually find when I stare longingly into the fridge hoping to find delicious cake or thanksgiving turkey.  It fills that void of just kinda sorta hungry but not really. I love it. It has become something that MUST be in my fridge at all times.

In buying pepperoni, I’ve learned to be very careful. Stick to what you know. Also, read the package. I’ve bought the turkey pepperoni that comes in the same packaging as the above stuff, only with the world “turkey” on it, by accident on more than one occasion.  It is gross.  I hate it.  The dog, on the other hand, loves it.

picklesPickles. I couldn’t live without them.  I need at least four different kinds in my fridge at all times  – the Sandwich ones, the baby dills, the hamburger slice thingies and the spears – but right now all that’s in there are the Sandwich ones and some gross non-dill pickle that my husband likes.  As far as I’m concerned, bread and butter pickles should be outlawed.  Pickles are supposed to be salty, not sweet.  Also, despite giving you something like 568% of your daily sodium, pickles are only 5 calories a serving so I can eat as many of them as I want without any of the guilt I get from those damn blueberry bagels.

10 Responses to “Quit smoking, now eating.”

  1. Margaret June 2, 2009 at 4:51 PM #

    You make me laugh 🙂 🙂 This whole food ‘thing’ is a hoot !! Find a whole wheat or multi-grain bagel, with blueberries, and feel virtuous while eating it…after all, blueberries are sooo good for us, and whole grain or multi-grain is better than plain or egg – at least that’s what ‘they’ say

    • instatick June 4, 2009 at 11:47 AM #

      I hadn’t thought about the blueberries being so good for me! Thanks for that! I feel a little less guilt now 🙂

  2. Chère June 2, 2009 at 9:27 PM #

    I found your blog via Tara’s, and can I just say, your fridge sounds a lot like mine! I had a cousin staying with me for a few days and she somehow found my bagels and over the course of 3 days ate them ALL. It was tragic 🙂
    Great blog!

  3. kirby June 3, 2009 at 3:05 AM #

    i just might be the dumbest person in the world, but i had no idea bagels were actually bad for you until someone told me the other day and i had to sit and eat my bagel while everyone else around me ate fruit or crackers and avocado.

    and pickles freak me out…

  4. Holly June 3, 2009 at 9:24 PM #

    It makes sense–you are replacing an oral fixation from smoking to food. An actual medical thing that happens is that you will be able to taste better too.

    Starch, pickles, pepperoni–you sure you aren’t pregnant?

    I thought I was the only one who eats pepperoni on a regular basis. That same brand too.

    • instatick June 4, 2009 at 11:45 AM #

      You know, if I didn’t eat crazy things like this all the time, I would think I was pregnant. But my cravings have ALWAYS been strange and off the wall.

      Pepperoni = essential to my well being.

  5. anOCgirl June 4, 2009 at 10:57 AM #

    ha! i’m sitting here reading this while eating a bagel (breakfast is late this morning). now i feel a little guilty about eating it. but it’s got fat free cream cheese on it! that makes it ok, right?

    also, why aren’t you obsessing over cake? i thought you all were going to have one to celebrate your non-smokiness.

    mmm…cake…

  6. Didi June 4, 2009 at 2:45 PM #

    Life is too short to not have the mac and cheese you like. Spend the extra buck. If you walk outside one night and get hit by a bus, you don’t want your last thought to be “damn, I wish I had eaten the GOOD mac and cheese tonight.”

    Also, don’t eat that pepperoni. It tastes like plastic. Try the Boar’s Head. It’s to die for. I too must have pepperoni in my fridge at all times and have found Boar’s Head to be the bestest, after much trial and error.

  7. emiliemarie June 4, 2009 at 7:32 PM #

    Congrats on quitting! Do you have any strategies or tricks that helped you? My boyfriend has been trying to quit but is not doing so well. He lives with two smokers, so I don’t know how likely it is that he can quit, but we will be buying a house this fall and there will be NO smoking in our house! Do you have any tips for us?
    PS, I love that mac and cheese!

  8. NWtoSE June 13, 2009 at 12:42 AM #

    Congrats on the QUIT!!!!!

    @ emiliemarie . . . I really hope your bf is not living amongst secondhand smoke : ( I am moving out of my apartment because they actually ALLOW smoking inside building and it makes me so sick. Does he live in DC? If so he can call 1 800 QUIT NOW and get FREE . . FREE patches and gum! If he has health insurance he should try the pill to quit smoking. Also encourage him to add up how much money he is spending! I kind of help a lot of people quit. . good luck!

Leave a Reply

