Generally, I’m against this sort of thing

26 Jun

In most situations, I know better than to blog while super pissed off, or drunk, or irritated to an extent that makes me want to throw shit. In fact, it’s a rule I’ve made for myself: don’t blog under the influence of extreme anxiety, anger or booze.

But sometimes, on very rare occasions, I like to break rules.  Now, would be one of those times because I am irritated.

See, I have friends who I hang out with every single friday night. And lately, things have been uh, busy to say the least.  This is the first weekend I’ve had off all month. We were gone for most of last week and really, I just haven’t been very here lately because the business was kept my busy. Weird. So someone got their panties in a tizzy because they think I’ve been neglectful. Which is shit because, as I said, I’ve been busy.  Now I learn two of my most closet friends have been sitting around talking shit.  Apparently, one didn’t get my text and now I’m the asshole.

I’m the most loyal person I know.  You need something? I’m there. I will come to your rescue.  Short on rent? I’ll lend you some cash. Need someone to talk to in the middle of the night? I’m your gal. Want some friendly advice on something I’ve been through and you haven’t? Take a seat and I’ll tell you everything I know. I will drive further for you than family. I will shell out more than I should just to see you smile because I love you and because you’ve been good to me and because you’ve made me happy and the very least I can do is give you something, anything you want, in return.

And yet…this. I’m flabbergasted. Feels like I’ve been sucker punched in the chest. Like the airs been drained from my lungs.

The hardest part – and the funniest part – is that, almost two months into being a smoker, I have no fucking clue how to be pissed as a non-smoker.  I smoked TEN YEARS people.  This is the first time I’ve been pissed as an adult who doesn’t smoke and I haven’t no idea how to do it. My body still thinks it wants to smoke right now because that what it did for ten years in situations like these, and my brain keeps telling it to shut up because we don’t do that anymore because it’s gross.

What do people who don’t smoke do when they get upset?

8 Responses to “Generally, I’m against this sort of thing”

  1. Margaret June 26, 2009 at 10:01 PM #

    My husband punches holes in the walls, with his fist or foot. – wouldn’t try that in your new house. –
    Since I still smoke..I’ll go outside and take a walk, or do deep breathing, or…remember that they are having a great day, and don’t have a clue that I’m pissed, even though I’m the one with the headache and clenched jaw.
    Don’t let scuzzy ‘friends’ rent space in your head.

  2. Shaba June 26, 2009 at 10:35 PM #

    I end up walking/running or being pissy to The Boy who doesn’t usually deserve it.

    Sometimes I talk very loudly in the car to myself.

  3. kirby June 27, 2009 at 9:02 AM #

    I eat… But maybe that’s not a good solution because then you will end up chunky and plump like me.

    I had a similar thing happen last month with a few girls I work with, who I thought were my friends. It sucks. Hugs for you.

  4. Holly June 28, 2009 at 1:59 PM #

    I’m sorry people were being petty. I understand the loyal friend thing and also get really upset when people talk shit for no reason. I hope it all blows over for you.

    I watch funny cat videos or gymnastics bloopers on You Tube, blast happy or angry chick music, or go outside and enjoy the sunshine or fresh air.

  5. Joe Sokohl June 29, 2009 at 3:39 PM #

    Drinking bourvon and listening to Rory Gallagher really loud always helps.

  6. emiliemarie June 29, 2009 at 6:34 PM #

    I eat too. Or I drive around, that usually calms me down a lot. Or go to the gym, that can help too.

  7. anOCgirl June 29, 2009 at 9:20 PM #

    i drink. lots. happy hour is my favorite way to stop being upset. it’s called HAPPY hour for a reason.

    thank goodness i don’t get upset that often, otherwise, i might become an alcoholic.

  8. anonymous July 2, 2009 at 9:30 AM #

    I usually sleep with my husband, that always makes me feel better!

Leave a Reply

