If not for steaks, life would be simple

29 Jul

I really, really, really love vegetables.  Always have. And lately, because my stomach has raised a red rebel flag of animosity and hatred toward all things meaty and greasy and not perfectly healthy for me, I’ve been seriously contemplating throwing in the towel for real this time and giving up meat completely. Each time my stomach throws a hissy fit, I realize it’s my body’s way of screaming NO THANK YOU at me. So maybe I should listen.

Except…I really like steak. And two days ago we bought a grill.  And you know what I really, really love off the grill? STEAK. Delicious, medium-rare steak, made right here at home in my own backyard by my own dear sweet husband.

And so I’m stuck. I want to afix the label of vegetarian to my chest because it makes everything easy. People offer you chicken and you can politely decline because you’re a vegetarian. But I don’t think, in my little heart of hearts, I want to be a total and complete vegetarian because STEAK. MMMMMMM STEAK! And that just seems like cheating to me.

Maybe I should just change my name to “Oxymoron” and run with it.

3 Responses to “If not for steaks, life would be simple”

  1. kirby July 30, 2009 at 5:55 AM #

    I work with people who are vegetarians, and a few of them say it was the worst decision they ever made…

  2. Margaret July 30, 2009 at 10:17 PM #

    no matter how good it tastes, why eat something that disturbs your digestive track?

    if you do make the vegetarian announcement and do take a bite of meat, tell any nosy person that it is at the advice of your Doc.

    the only person who’s opinion matters is your hubs

  3. san August 12, 2009 at 6:43 PM #

    Hi, I am a random visitor… just found your blog today by clicking around (please don’t ask where I even started).

    I just wanted to say: I don’t see why you can’t have the occasional steak from your own grill and still call you a 99.9% vegetarian, because you are. Most of the time, anyway.
    Don’t be so hard on yourself. And btw, a piece of red mead every now and then is actually healthy for you!

Leave a Reply

