I love you despite that one time you didn’t high-five me

19 Aug

There have been all sorts of sappy love stories hitting the internets lately. All sorts of bloggers talking about how it felt when they met their one true love and how they didn’t used to believe in love at first sight until so-and-so walked into their lives and then WHAM! – hello, lover! I eat it all up with a pitchfork because I love stories of how people met and fall in love and live happily ever after. I think it’s neat to know that sometimes the universe isn’t just an asshole and that sometimes, two people who are totally meant to be get to be.

I’d love to tell the story of how the husband and I met and fell in love, but not right now. Instead, I’ll tell the story of how we almost weren’t even friends.

Andrew and I met through the Army. There are a million and one little twists and turns that led us to each other.  But no. We both made a whole series of very big decisions that landed us at Fort Belvior, Va. in November of 2005.

Within the first five minutes of meeting Andrew, I tried to high-five him. He ignored me.

Normally, I would have held of a grudge. In fact, he would probably tell you that I have held a grudge because ever so often, especially when people ask us how we met, I always berate him for not returning my high-five. I mean, there’s just some things you don’t ignore. High-fives from your future wife happens to top that list.

What makes it all so strange is that my husband, my dear, sweet husband, really like high-fives. He likes giving them, receiving them. High-fives, low-fives, whatever-fives – he likes them. And yet, on that fateful day he just couldn’t be bothered with high-fiving me back.

His excuse is that he’s socially awkward. I say his excuse is just an excuse and that he’s lucky I gave him a second chance.

Also, for the record, for every single high-five I’ve thrown at him since that fateful November day, he’s thrown one back.

6 Responses to “I love you despite that one time you didn’t high-five me”

  1. taraSG August 19, 2009 at 6:23 PM #

    I love that story 🙂 My husband did speak one word the first night I met him because he was so socially awkward lol.

    I love the new blog layout 🙂

  2. Margaret August 19, 2009 at 6:27 PM #

    You’re such an awesome woman,…maybe you scared the crap out of him 🙂

  3. San August 19, 2009 at 7:07 PM #

    Just see the silver-lining: you have something to tell your grandkids (and the Internet) about 🙂

  4. H to the Izzo August 20, 2009 at 3:13 PM #

    There’s a new blog layout? ..goes to check. OH! I read on my bloglines, so I never see the layout (shame, I know).

    Cute story. Damn you and the Internets with their cute love stories.

    • Terra August 20, 2009 at 4:49 PM #

      I read everything in google reader too and never see layout either 🙂 Sometimes I feel guilty, but mostly I don’t.

  5. titus2woman August 22, 2009 at 6:41 AM #

    HA HA HA HA! This was GREAT! My darling and I met in a “den of iniquity”. Ever go to The Metro back in the day? LOL! (WOW~showin’ my age there….) (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

