Four things I don’t feel like keeping to myself

21 Aug

1. My mother-in-law comes in by plane this evening. Just in time for dinner. Just in time for the weekend. She stays all the way until Monday morning, which is great, I guess. If you’re into mothers-in-law staying at your house all weekend. Which, you know, I’m not. Because I start school on Monday (just the one class, but still) and so instead of sleeping in this weekend I’ll be trying like hell to be adorable and likable and sweet and all hostess-like even though we all know I’d rather be sleeping and spending the day in my pajamas. I know damn well I’m acting like a brat, but I like my weekends to include at least four straight hours of snuggle time with my husband and with mothers in the house, we just don’t have time for that shit. Ultimately, I’m 50% enthused she gets to come visit, and 50% sleepy and annoyed.

2. The husband and I, along with a big group of friends from the old apartment, are going to Ocean City, Maryland next weekend. I just realized this yesterday. Apparently, we suck at planning things. But really, how much do you need to plan when your friends have a beach house they’re parents are letting you use for the weekend?

3. The last time I was in Ocean City, I was 15 years old with my best friend Stefanie and her family. We managed to convince these college guys we were actually 17. Then we played spin the bottle with them because we were, at 15, idiots. And possibly a little slutty too.

4. I’ve never been to California and am starting to get more and more excited about the San Francisco trip as each minute passes. There’s something so romantic about California. I can’t put my finger on it but, in true East Coast girl fashion, when I think California, I think paradise, and movie stars, and the land of far, far away. It’s the place I’ve always wanted to run away to, and finally, I get to.

Happy Friday!

6 Responses to “Four things I don’t feel like keeping to myself”

  1. taraSG August 21, 2009 at 12:13 PM #

    I would feel the same way if my mother-in-law was coming to visit 🙂

  2. chasingparadise August 21, 2009 at 2:28 PM #

    Oh honey…I’m sorry about your impending visit from your mother-in-law! I’m all about being on our own on the weekends as well…no one to answer to, etc.

    I haven’t been to Ocean City since 2003. 4th of July, as a matter of fact. I was 20 and an IDIOT for going on a holiday weekend. But oh, I do miss that place!

  3. san August 21, 2009 at 3:36 PM #

    I can understand that you feel like you’re not really having a weekend with your MIL visiting… but hey, it’s only ONE weekend and you’ll have the next to yourselves again.

    I am happy for you that you’ll be coming to CA! Whenever someone finds out that I live in CA, they get all excited, because they have the same notion of CA as you… they think vacation, paradise, sun, movies stars 😉 (but, live is pretty normal here as well ;))

  4. titus2woman August 22, 2009 at 6:38 AM #

    OOOOHHHH-LA-LA! LOVE the new look~LOVE the new pic!! LOVE the “I’m crushing your head”~LOL! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  5. CuppyCakes August 22, 2009 at 7:25 AM #

    I’m meeting Boy’s mum for the first time and staying in her house for like a week and a half in a few months. Oh yeah. It’s going to be awesome.

  6. H to the Izzo August 23, 2009 at 11:45 PM #

    Yay Ocean City. Wave to the DE beaches for me while you’re there, and be sure to eat some Dough Roller pizza and play the 10c claw machines(if they still have them!) at one of the arcades.

    I feel exactly the same East-Coast way about CA. One of my favorite songs is Atherton’s “California”. Look it up, seriously, it is amazing.

Leave a Reply

