Better than expected, as usual

25 Aug

I survived class last night. I didn’t hyperventilate. I didn’t pass out. I didn’t even puke all over myself. In fact, once I got to campus and discovered the buildings in the same place they were three years ago when I had my last college class, I calmed down.

It was nice to be back in a classroom, back to learning again, although the students surprised me. I guess I’ve always been kind of a nerd.  I take school pretty seriously and pride myself on having a rock solid GPA. The class I’m taking is a lower level class, and the very last of my general education requirements.  After this, I can switch gears and focus only on classes related to my major. My major, just in case I haven’t mentioned it before, is Sociology and, back in the before times, my minor was in Women’s Studies. I have taken a fuck-ton of classes related to women and society. The class I’m taking this semester is “Text & Context: Women, Religion & Society.” It’s all about women and society and religion as seen through film and text.  Super cool, right? Right up my femi-nazi alley, right? Probably super-similar to all the other classes I’ve taken, right? Right.

Well, it’s a general education class. So there are all these girls in there taking it just because they have to.  And I hate them already. First of all, they’re all sophomores and probably 19-20. I was 19-20 once, and I took school seriously, in between heavy drinking, of course. Not that I drank when I was 19-20. So there’s really wrong with being 19-20, it’s just that these girls act like they’re about 16, and that’s where I have a problem. No shit, these girls spent almost the entire time bitching that the professor didn’t let us leave early. Then they bitched about the attendance policy because – gasp! – they have to come to class to get credit. Also, they smelled like hookers.

I realize now school is awesome and I love it and that freaking out about it was ridiculous. Also, I’m a giant dork who loves learned, but I’m also kind of a bully who will throw your ass in the dumpster if you piss me off.

So now that I’m done having panic attacks about school, I should let you know I have two bug bites. Two, rather large, red welty looking bug bits I believe to be the handy work of some sort of spider. One is on my stomach, to the right of belly button, and one is on my tit. As in, some spider got bored and bit my breast.

Besides feeling like I was molested my some devil bug, I also have the sneaking suspicion I might turn into a super hero. Or, I might die.  I feel fine and the bug bites have yet to turn any sort of crazy color, and, even better, my tit hasn’t fallen off yet, so I’m not too worried about the death part, although the super hero part might be kind of annoying now that I think of it. I just don’t have time for that shit right now.

5 Responses to “Better than expected, as usual”

  1. CuppyCakes August 26, 2009 at 3:49 AM #

    what if your super power was supersonic speed? Then you could make time for it?
    I’m glad your boob didn’t fall off too…

  2. san August 26, 2009 at 12:46 PM #

    I hear you. I don’t consider myself a “nerd”, but I did enjoy college and it pissed me off when students so obviously DIDN’T want to be there (why not get a job instead of wasting educational resources?)

  3. Alverna August 26, 2009 at 11:49 PM #

    “As in, some spider got bored and bit my breast.”
    I almost pissed myself via laughing!

    Also, you WILL get the last laugh because your grade will be an A, while 16-year-old hooker barbie girl’s grade will be…well, she’ll be doing great to get a C+.

  4. H to the Izzo August 27, 2009 at 1:22 PM #

    NERD! (It’s okay, me too)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2009: A Time to Nestle « questionable rationale - January 1, 2010

    […] change, they don’t change so much that you can’t get back what you once had.  Then, I went back to college and after WAY TOO LONG. Oh, and I learned the friend I let into my house was a useless sexist. That […]

Leave a Reply

