Change of Plans or, Ocean City FAIL!

28 Aug

Originally, we were going to head north to Ocean City to spend the weekend there. But then we thought about it for a minute, and realized the following:

  • Five hours in the car with my husband and a new couple who is super icky adorable ALL THE TIME and who constantly refer to each other “Baby,”  forcing me to projectile vomit when they’re in the vicinity.
  • Thunderstorms and rain and wind and a tropical storm, oh my! I don’t know about you, but when I go on vacation to the beach, I like to be able to go to the beach, and those pesky thunderstorms usually get in the way of sun-worship. Plus, I can sit around and drink at my own damn house, without having to pack an overnight back, or do laundry.
  • Not being able to leave until at 4 PM tonight, meaning we would hit rush hour traffic, thus not arriving at our destination until VERY LATE AND PAST OUR BEDTIMES.
  • Five hours back home with my husband and the same new couple who, by that point, would probably be wearing my nerves so raw, I’d consider leaving in the middle of the night to avoid a car ride with them and their disgusting cuteness.
  • Next weekend is Labor Day weekend and the husband and I are going to SAN FRANCISCO and, as much as I love me some vacation, two weekends in a row of extensive travel will probably have me threatening to cut a bitch.

So instead of spending 10 hours in the car for a single day on the beach, we’re staying in town. Tonight we will feast on Beer Can Chicken and Ribeyes and Grilled Veggies lightly seasoned with Rosemary and Olive Oil, some of my own Tomato Basil Bruschetta Deliciousness and, for dessert, some Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes from scratch that I should make before it gets too late in the day.

Tomorrow we might head down to the river for some sun worship and the husband and I will hit the mall for some much needed pre-San Francisco shopping.

As much I was looking forward to the beach, I’ve got to admit I’m in a much better mood now that I know I don’t have to drive up there tonight through possible thunderstorms.

Happy Friday!

DSC_0818

What are your weekend plans?

4 Responses to “Change of Plans or, Ocean City FAIL!”

  1. Ash August 28, 2009 at 4:33 PM #

    Hey, T., I saw a real live and very large Black Bear – it crossed Freezeland Rd. going so fast I’m sure it was breaking the speed limit on those curves! He was HUGE!

  2. san August 28, 2009 at 4:44 PM #

    I would have made the same decision… all the hassle is not worth it, and you’re going to SF in a week! Yay! (I still have to send you some restaurant recommendations, right?)

  3. CuppyCakes August 29, 2009 at 8:00 AM #

    My weekend consits of… working saturday as per usual – its saturday night here now and I had a lovely day at work though. And on Sunday… I insist on sleeping in and then doing bunches of nothing.
    Possibly baking some cupcakes of my own… from a packet though because I’m not that clever.

  4. titus2woman August 30, 2009 at 6:45 PM #

    MMMMMMM… Beercan chicken! Haven’t had that in a LONG TIME! We need to hook-up for that and potluck! LOL! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

