August Goals: Close enough to taste victory

31 Aug

You guys, tomorrow is September.  And for the next two days, temperatures aren’t supposed to leave the 70s. And just like that, summer is done and 2009 is just a hop, skip and a jump from ending, even though I’m not really sure what the hell happened to it.

Monthly Goal Recap: August:

  1. Set up the TV in the living room – Done! After months and months of living here we finally got the outlet installed and my living room is not an actual living room.  Before & After here.
  2. Go on a date with my husband – Done!
  3. Find a lamp for the living room – Done! I love HomeGoods!
  4. Purchase & place doors for the living room cabinets – Done! My clutter is officially hidden!
  5. Paint the dining room chairs – Fail. I thought about it a lot.
  6. Mulch both the front and back gardens – Almost done…sort of.  We put down the mulch we already had on hand in the front yard. It’s not quite enough, but it looks a bit better.
  7. Call Nintendo and inquire about getting a replacement Wii Fit disc to replace the one the dog ate – Fail.
  8. Use the new grill at least twice – Done! We’ve grilled food for friends and family the past three weekends and I love it!
  9. Book a mini-vacation to San Francisco – Done! We leave on Thursday!
  10. Find a coffee table for the living room – Done!

So that’s…ummm…75% of my goals completed? Not too shabby, I guess.  Seeing as it’s Monday and I leave for San Francisco on Thursday, that’s just about the only goal I really care about right now.

As for the weekend, it went almost exactly as planned, except for that instead of going to the river, we napped. It was delicious.

How was your weekend/August?

3 Responses to “August Goals: Close enough to taste victory”

  1. Alverna August 31, 2009 at 9:29 PM #

    Your living room looks completely awesome. Congrats!

    I can’t wait to hear about your trip to San Fran, I’m sure it’ll be a blast!

    My weekend was very lazy. I was going to get all this crap done, but instead I used Saturday as a date night with the hubby; Sunday was the usual weekly meal planning/grocery shopping and our weekly dinner/tv night with friends; and today I spent on just me. So, I feel ready to start the work week, even with an un-cleaned house. Wouldn’t it be nice if they cleaned themselves?!?

  2. CuppyCakes September 1, 2009 at 7:09 AM #

    Hooray for DONE!
    My august was pretty good. I went from stressing the hell out about my trip to the uk, to really not thinking about it all that much.. and then in the last few days I realised that by NOT thinking about it, I forgot a bunch of stuff I still have to book.
    whoops.

  3. anOCgirl September 2, 2009 at 11:34 AM #

    oh. my. gosh! so happy you’re going to SF. you are going to love it. i can’t remember if you’re a wine lover or not, but if you have time, rent a car and head out to sonoma for all the wineries. napa is fine too, but it’s too commercial now. but sonoma is perfect in every way. if you go to cline winery in sonoma, please say hi to the sheep for me!

Leave a Reply

