“You’re just not like other people”

7 Oct

If I had a nickle for every time someone told me that, for every time someone alluded to the fact that I’m a little different, I’d  be a bloody millionaire.

The internet is full of all sorts of people and, not surprisingly, I’ve found people who share my quirks. People who get ready in the morning sans shirt just so they can admire their breasts. People who hate shoes as much as I do. People who don’t want children. People who have convictions and who want to change the world. People who aren’t girly. People who could give a damn about facials and pedicures. People who aren’t afraid to raise their freak flag.

My people are the misfits
The ones that don’t fit in

Lately I’ve been amazed, and even astonished at the behavior I’ve seen in my peers. Yes, college has opened my eyes to the idiocy of many, but it’s more than that. It’s behavior I see in young (and not so young) Soldiers. It’s the things I hear on the radio, the things I read on the news and the things I see in my neighborhood that just stress me the hell out.

I want, so much, to fix it all. I want to get on a soapbox and talk about love and patience and kindness and the simple act of doing the right thing. Of not killing each other, of not hating people just because it seemed like a good idea at the time, of not allowing our differences to cause violence, of accepting one another as different people from different backgrounds with different ideas.

Tick tick. Tell me where the time goes
Oh life, you know it moves much to slow
Tick tick. Tell me where the time goes

Then there’s the little bits. The things in my immediate periphery that are driving me, slowly but surely, insane. Friends who think just because we were friends prior to them joining the Army that they can talk to me however they want when we’re in uniform and in public places despite the fact that I out rank them and should be treated with respect. Or the fact that a friend of a friend thinks it’s okay to talk disrespectfully to me just because we share a friend. There’s the feeling that I’m being taken advantage of, that my hospitality and kindness and desire to help save the world is causing me to get walked over. There’s that need for a confrontation despite my loathing of confrontation, especially when it involves friends.

And then, yesterday morning, this, from the Universe:

Tell you what, Terra: If you can get happy right now, in spite of any problems, challenges, and circumstances that now seem to taunt you, I’ll take care of those problems, challenges, and circumstances, as well as “ever-after.”

Agh-hmm… Please, do the math, take the bait, and never look back.

The Universe

And so I sat outside, watching my dog sniff around the garden, and tried, with all my might, to just let it go. Yesterday was a super good day, and a super annoying and disappointing day all rolled into one and so last night, as I tried to fall asleep while planing a speech in my head about military bearing and about being a good friend, I thought to myself, “the universe will take care of it.”

Those are the ones for me
The misfits, the freaks, the enemy, you and me

Maybe it’s all true. Maybe the Universe will take care of it. Maybe by next week things will get better, maybe I’ll gain the courage to just spill it all, and stop walking around like an ice queen. Maybe I really am different. Maybe I’m not at all like anyone else. Or maybe I am.

*Lyrics from Third Eye Blind’s “Misfits”
5 Responses to ““You’re just not like other people””

  1. Margaret October 7, 2009 at 1:16 PM #

    Ah Terra, You are a woman after my own heart. We can make a positive difference in the world. It will seem small to us, but each kind act, thought, etc. really does make a difference.

    When you need to speak to those who do not respect you as they should, – it’s all in the timing – and you need to feel calm. Speak the truth and if they get pissed, at least you know you did the right thing.

    I can’t figure out why people wake up each morning with hate and anger in their hearts. We need to all hold hands and work together for good.

    The Universe/God will help us on this path. We are the hands and feet. Don’t be discouraged, don’t give up on your intent to do the good thing.

    I’m different than most people also. It’s not necessarily fun being different, but I believe we have a Mission. As Kermit would say, ‘It’s not easy being green’

    Ask Andrew to hug you for me.

  2. CuppyCakes October 8, 2009 at 6:44 AM #

    I like being a misfit. I think you’re awesome. Really. I wish our similarities stretched further and that I could be as strong and determined and kind as you are.

  3. H to the Izzo October 8, 2009 at 10:52 AM #

    The Third Eye Blind show motivated you, eh? So great that our favorite music can do that for us.

    Tell me more about this “Notes from the Universe” thing. Do you set it up and it sends you random happy messages? How does it know?

  4. San October 8, 2009 at 11:18 AM #

    “You’re just not like other people”. Isn’t that a compliment? I think it is… and what I’ve learned about you so far makes me think you’re pretty awesome! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2009: A Time to Nestle « questionable rationale - January 1, 2010

    […] October, we learned that I’m just not like other people, which I guess I always knew anyway, but still. It’s nice when people remind me. We went to […]

Leave a Reply

