Love

30 Oct

Once upon a time, in the before times, Andrew said “I love you” to me for the first time on this very day.

I know, I know, it’s a silly thing to remember but today is the day before Andrew’s birthday so it would actually be pretty hard for me NOT to remember the significance of today’s date.

The story:

Early in the day, Andrew said he had something to tell me. Something important. My guts were doing somersaults since I woke up that morning and when he told me that, I just KNEW.  I knew, without a doubt, that he was going to say the l-word. It was a no-brainer.

So I waited, all day. I ate lunch with him, worked with him, stared at him and felt my stomach fill with more and more butterflies as the day went on.

Finally, after dinner and work, we went for a walk. Like we always did. I asked him over and over and over again if he was ready to tell me that important something he’d mentioned earlier in the day. But he kept saying he wasn’t ready so we walked around and around and finally we stopped and just sort of stared at each other.

We talked about other things, non-love things. The weather. Work. Stupid shit.

And then he said, “I think I love you.”

And it didn’t matter that I knew he was going to say it all day. It didn’t matter that I’d known I loved him since the first day I’d met him. It didn’t matter that all day I’d been practicing my response in my head. I was knocked speechless.

So I stared at him, grasping for words, trying to catch my breath. I wanted something snarky, something smart to say in response to his thinking he loved me but I came up short.

Andrew will say it was 15 minutes before I responded. I say it was more like seconds before I said, “I think…I know I love you too.” Which was, I know, totally lame, but the best I could come up with.

Luckily, we’ve gotten much better at saying “I love you.”

(Excuse me. I have to go throw up in my mouth because THE CUTE – I CANNOT HANDLE IT!)

6 Responses to “Love”

  1. H to the Izzo October 30, 2009 at 10:04 AM #

    Dude. Cute. So CUTE. I’m teary.

    Hey, I cry at the end of Cool Runnings, so it doesn’t take much really.

  2. san October 30, 2009 at 10:32 AM #

    AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!! 🙂

  3. Margaret October 30, 2009 at 12:32 PM #

    You two were/are meant to be together. God did a GOOD thing for both of you.

  4. Margaret October 30, 2009 at 2:46 PM #

    I remember the dress I had on for my first date with my husband. Nov. 22, 1959. We went to a Youth Group square dance, at St. Paul’s Lutheran Church, Kingsville, MD

  5. nicoleantoinette October 30, 2009 at 5:55 PM #

    “Once upon a time, in the before times…”

    This is the perfect way to start a story. I absolutely love this line. Love.

  6. Alverna November 5, 2009 at 9:59 PM #

    Love it! I got a little teary…I kinda love me some mushy cuteness!

Leave a Reply

