Halloween ’09 Extravaganza & A Grown-Ass Man

2 Nov

Andrew turned 29 on Halloween. Also, it was Halloween, which is my favorite holiday ever.

Because I have recently become very brave, and because most of the rooms in our house are finally functioning as they should, we threw a party. A Halloween Costumes-Are-Mandatory and Andrew-is-turning-29-so-HAPPY-BIRTHDAY Party.

Before the party I had all these grand delusions that I was going to break out the camera right before everyone arrived to take pictures of all the frightful goodies I had made, but alas, I failed miserably at that task. When our first guests arrived I was in the kitchen frantically putting the finishing touches on some mini-mummy pizzas and slopping beans onto an oozing eyeball. You’ll just have to take my word for it that the swamp juice (made from pineapple juice, fresca, lots o’ rum, some pina colada mix and a bag of frozen berries) was spooky, delicious, and powerful enough to leave me with a Halloween Hangover from Hell & and that all of the goodies I whipped up were the most awesome Halloween goodies ever.

I was Lady GAGA:

DSC_0268

Andrew was Mr. Slave from South Park:

DSC_0317

SadieBug was a LadyBug but we lack photographic evidence of that.We do, however, have this photo of her in disguise as a Luna Moth:

DSC_0349

Our first guest passed out on the couch at 10 PM.

Swamp Juice and Blood-tinis kicked everyone’s ass. Including mine.

At some point we moved the dining table to make room for a dance floor.

I passed out at about 1 AM because the swamp juice was slowly eating away at my soul and was making everything very, very spinny.  Apparently Andrew came upstairs to find me, in bed, with my wig still on.

DSC_0391

I have no memory of this and maintain that I slept peacefully from the time I went upstairs until 7AM the next morning, but alas. There’s a picture of me looking all crazy and awake.

Then there was a dance contest of some sort: DSC_0367

I think things got a little wild after I went to bed:

DSC_0373

I can’t be sure though.

If the awesomeness of this party is directly related to the level of misery I experienced the day after, then I’d say the party was a great success.

5 Responses to “Halloween ’09 Extravaganza & A Grown-Ass Man”

  1. san November 2, 2009 at 8:07 PM #

    OMG, what a fun party! I wish you would have taken pictures of your spooky treats…

    BTW, it’s funny, but I curl up my hands underneath my chin just as you do in the picture when I sleep. Weird 🙂

    Happy belated Halloween and Andrew’s birthday!

  2. Liz November 2, 2009 at 10:00 PM #

    No joke – I almost went as Lady GaGa for Halloween as well. I, instead, went as The Proletariat (no wig required).

    Glad to see your party went awesomely!

  3. Liz November 2, 2009 at 10:01 PM #

    PS: The photo of Andrew as Mr. Slave is fantastic!

  4. Alverna November 5, 2009 at 10:03 PM #

    You as LG=total awesomeness!! Also, Andrew is pretty bad ass himself.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2009: A Time to Nestle « questionable rationale - January 1, 2010

    […] Celtic Festival and had all sorts of fun as zombies.  Then, Andrew got one step closer to 30, and turned 29 and we had a big ole’ Halloween bash to […]

Leave a Reply

