Ouch.

6 Nov

I came from work yesterday and stared at the news for five news.  It’s probably the longest I’ve spent glued to the TV since Hurricane Katrina.

When 9/11 happened, I was shocked. Terrified. Angry.  But I didn’t cry.

When Hurricane Katrina happened, I was sad. Confused. Upset. But I didn’t cry.

And then yesterday a U.S. Soldier, someone who has worn, and allegedly was wearing, the same uniform I wear everyday, opened fire on his fellow Soldiers at a Readiness Center at Fort Hood. He killed 12 Soldiers. 1 Civilian. Injured dozens more.

I cried.

I cried when Lt. Gen. Cone, the Fort Hood Post Commander, came on the news last night with an updated death toll. I cried when I saw footage of  Soldiers come to the aid of other Soldiers.

I just couldn’t look away from the TV. I couldn’t, and can’t, understand.

I’ve been serving in the military for the past 6 1/2 years. That’s almost a quarter of my life spent as a Soldier. I’ve never been to Fort Hood. I don’t know anyone there. But still. What happened at Fort Hood, happened to my family. My Army family. It sound cliché, sure. But it’s the truth.

There’s a lot I could say. But I won’t. I’ll just take a moment of silence instead.

8 Responses to “Ouch.”

  1. Alverna November 6, 2009 at 3:03 PM #

    I know. I mean, I can’t know–since I’m not Army, so it’s not quite the same for me. But, I know what you mean.

  2. Rachel November 6, 2009 at 3:05 PM #

    i cried. as someone who has come to know YOU and who has someone in the military working on a base much the same as Ft. Hood all this week, it was really hard to sit and watch this. it was really hard to believe that someone in this family, someone that swore to protect this country and his fellow soldiers would be capable of something like this. i don’t know. i’m still at a complete loss.

  3. san November 6, 2009 at 4:53 PM #

    I know some (German) girls that live on or around Fort Hood with their (Army) husbands… I was so shocked to hear about this.

  4. Margaret November 6, 2009 at 6:12 PM #

    crying with you

  5. emiliemarie November 6, 2009 at 10:50 PM #

    It is unbelievable. My fiance has been glued to the TV too. He was honorably discharged in February…and the best man in our wedding is being deployed back to Afghanistan in two weeks. We’re all in shock that this could even happen. So so sad.

  6. Ash November 8, 2009 at 8:01 PM #

    The more I read about this man who did this, the less it makes sense to me. A doctor, caring for his patients, then he calmly, methodically, cleans out his apartment, says good bye to his friends, eats his normal breakfast, and then goes not-crazy and kills people. If he couldn’t take being deployed, and joining his fellow Muslims fighting other Muslims, then he could have gone visit his brother in Lebanon and not come back.

    Terra, I knew this would hit you hard – I’m very sorry.

  7. Gooseberried November 9, 2009 at 2:19 AM #

    😦

  8. Lettie December 29, 2014 at 10:31 PM #

    That kind of thnkiing shows you’re on top of your game

Leave a Reply

