If I had a million dollars…

9 Nov

Sometimes I spend entirely too much daydreaming about what I would do if I won the lottery.  Andrew and I, when the winnings get up to 9 figures, frequently discuss what we would do with the money. How would our lives change? What would we do with all that money? What charities would give money to? Would we keep our house?

I think, at the very least, I’d do the following:

– Buy our neighbors house. Bulldoze it. Put in a pool. It’s not so much that I hate our neighbors. They’ve been nice, for the most part. It’s just their house acts as the #1 hangout spot for all the underage hoodlums on our block and I’ve grown really, really tired of hearing Hoodlum #47 stand outside our neighbor’s house yelling “Hey, Coop!” at all hours of the night and day.  Plus, I really hate looking out my guest room window and seeing the mountains of crap they have piled in their yard. I’d much rather have a pool back there. And a garage. And a buttload of flowers.

– Make a bigger kitchen. I do love the kitchen I have now, but I really wish I had room for an island with some bar stools.  Every single time we entertain I end up with a herd of people in my kitchen and it’d be nice if those people could sit on bar stools instead of on my countertops.

– Travel. For like three months. I don’t know where we’d go, but trust me, we’d go.

– Donate lots o’ money. We’d give some to our families of course and then we’d just throw money at our favorite charities.

– Go back to school full time. As much as I would like to think I would keep my job if I suddenly became a multi-millionaire, I know that’s bullshit. Sure, I love my job. But why keep it when I can do anything?

– Adopt puppies. Lots of them. In fact, I’d probably just make a room in my house called the puppy room where people can go and get kissed and snuggled by a herd of puppies.

What would you do if you had a million dollars?

7 Responses to “If I had a million dollars…”

  1. Gooseberried November 9, 2009 at 5:36 PM #

    Man, I think about this so much too!

    1 – Pay off all debts which consist of a little bit of credit card debt I can’t get ahead on and my student loans.

    2 – Buy a reliable, non-fancy car.

    3 – Get myself a nice bike so that I can use my non-fancy, reliable car as little as possible.

    4 – Move into a place that has a backyard for my Bowie.

    5 – Travel! And spend money on clothing in other countries so I can come home with a new wardrobe which no one else will have.

    6 – Pass money out to my parents, other family members and friends.

    *Sigh*

  2. Jonathan November 9, 2009 at 7:03 PM #

    If I had a million dollars, I would take quite a lot of time off work, and have fun. Go to the movies lots, eat out lots, sit in cafes and watch people. Write lots. Invest in myself and my family the best way I know – with time.

  3. Margaret November 9, 2009 at 7:57 PM #

    give a tithe to our church, pay off our mortgage, help our girls, …

  4. Liz November 9, 2009 at 10:01 PM #

    – pay off student loans (and any other debts of my family)

    – start traveling: My mom and I have talked excessively about how we’d start by traveling to one place and then, all of a sudden, we’ve traveled all across the globe. This will happen one day. It will probably take up a year or so of our lives.

    – go back to school. I don’t know if I’d get a Masters or if I’d just get a ridiculous amount of Bachelors, but I’d get a butt-ton of degrees of some kind.

    – Move. Somewhere awesome. I’d move my mom with me.

    – I’m sure I’d spend the rest on charity and having fun. I mean, what else would I use it for?

    • Ruvell December 29, 2014 at 7:09 PM #

      I was looking evehrwreye and this popped up like nothing!

  5. titus2woman November 11, 2009 at 4:04 PM #

    First, it would all go into savings while we talked and discussed it 1,000 times over. Then we would tithe a portion~some to church/ministry, some to help people we know in need. I’m sure we would finish fixing up the house. OH! and another vehicle would really, really bless us. Whatever was left would sit there to be used as needed for ourselves and others as issues arise. I *don’t think* much would change about HOW we live, except for getting out more in said vehicle! LOL! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  6. Midge December 29, 2014 at 7:19 PM #

    It’s wofudrnel to have you on our side, haha!

Leave a Reply

