Pride.

11 Nov

This morning Andrew and I went to a Veteran’s Day Memorial at the Virginia War Memorial. It was cold and rainy and after five minutes I couldn’t feel my fingers or the tops of my ears and we were there because we had to be there for work, which took some of the fun out of it, but I was still proud to be there, proud to serve my country and proud to be among fellow veterans.

Because the wind was whipping so hard and because the rain was pouring and because the speakers were pointing away from me, I couldn’t hear much of what was said. Which was okay. I got snippets of their words, among them “honored,” “thank you,” “pride,” and “freedom.” I got the gist of the speeches without really hearing them.

And then this woman got up and sang “God Bless America.” And I’m standing in the corner next to this Vietnam veteran and he starts singing along and then everyone in the whole place started singing along too and it was beautiful and touching and made my heart swell.

Thanks America, for all that you’ve let me see, and for all that you’ve let me become.

5 Responses to “Pride.”

  1. Margaret November 11, 2009 at 3:02 PM #

    Thank you for Serving for the Cause of Freedom

  2. nicoleantoinette November 11, 2009 at 3:37 PM #

    This is lovely. I definitely thought about you this morning while watching the news! Big hugs.

  3. titus2woman November 11, 2009 at 3:52 PM #

    Thinking of you here, too. Wish I could’ve been there today~what a beautiful moment to share! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  4. Jonathan November 11, 2009 at 4:42 PM #

    It rolled around to 11:00 this morning at work, and I was sat in a meeting. The meeting carried on, but I didn’t really hear any of it for a while… pretty shocked that nobody else seemed to notice…

  5. Linda Miller November 12, 2009 at 10:09 AM #

    Thank you for sharing your story on Vets Day ! I am glad you added the story on the Veteran who sang along. Very touching

Leave a Reply

