Why didn’t anyone tell me?

13 Nov

I realized yesterday, while driving on the interstate through a tropical storm (which was just about as much fun as it sounds like it would be), that I’ve officially been a non-smoker for over six whole months. I quit smoking May 1st, and that means that, as of November 1st, I reached the six month mark. Which I totally and completely missed.  I can’t tell if it’s a good thing I’m not keeping track of how long it’s been since I had a cigarette, or if I’m a huge failure for not patting myself on the back.

I wish I had advice on how to quit smoking. But I don’t. Andrew and I just…quit. Cold turkey. No pills. No patches. No acupuncture. No nothing. One day we smoked and then we ran out of cigarettes and then we didn’t smoke anymore. It was that simple. We were ready to quit. Really ready. We’d been talking about it forever and then we made the commitment to quit and it worked. Because we were ready.  Had we not been ready, I’m not sure it would have worked so well.

The side effect I didn’t predict to this whole being a non-smoker thing is that I’m a total non-smoking snob. As in, when friends are smoking around me, I cough. Because really, even though I smoked for 10 years, the smell of smoke now makes my lungs feel like they are DYING. I hate going to bars that are full of smoke (Dec. 1 there won’t be anymore smoky bars in Virginia! Woo!) and will complain, a lot, about the stench. I notice when smokers come in from a cigarette and it makes me sick. As in, the other day two ladies who must have just sucked down a pack and a half of smokes came and sat next to me and I had to get up and move because the smell was so atrocious.  Also, they both had really big hair and it was infringing on my personal space.

The only part that sucks about not smoking  is that I don’t know how to meet people now. It used to be all the smokers would hang out together and bond but now there’s nothing to bond over. I guess, at the end of the day, being a little lonely beats having lots o’ wrinkles and smelling like an ashtray though…

8 Responses to “Why didn’t anyone tell me?”

  1. san November 13, 2009 at 6:53 PM #

    Wohoo! Good for you, Terra.
    I’ve never smoked a cigarette in my life (yes, not even tried), because my Mom used to be a heavy smoker and I was so turned off by the smell. (She quit cold turkey, too. Over 23 years ago! :))

  2. Margaret November 13, 2009 at 9:09 PM #

    Congratulations !!!

  3. H to the Izzo November 14, 2009 at 11:44 AM #

    I am SO glad you quit smoking, since I’m a total anti-smoking snob, and don’t apologize for it at all. Good for you guys for making that big jump and sticking to it! Let’s make plans again soon. Joe had an idea to do a bars are now non-smoking crawl thingy on Dec 1 (or close to it) in honor of the ban. Interested?

    Also, are you gone the first weekend in December? Say no, that’s usually my holiday party.

  4. Julia November 15, 2009 at 7:48 PM #

    good for you! and its probably a good thing you totally forgot, because it means you aren’t craving them constantly! i’m still in that “i don’t think i’m ready to completely quit stage” but I have inadvertently become just a weekend smoker. i never smoked heavily, maybe one or two a day max, but for the last three weeks i’ve completely forgotten about smoking during the week, and just had a couple with drinks on the weekend. and it was totally effortless! next step, forgetting all about it like you!

    • Terra November 17, 2009 at 7:24 PM #

      You are so close and I know you’ll be able to quit completely!

  5. Gooseberried November 16, 2009 at 11:56 PM #

    Congrats and good for you! Keep up the good work!

    The social aspect of smoking you mentioned reminded me of a Seinfeld episode when Kramer turns his apartment into a smoking lounge because there’s no where in the city where he and others can smoke without avoiding the cold outside. Hehe.

    • Terra November 17, 2009 at 7:24 PM #

      HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Terra November 17, 2009 at 7:23 PM #

    Thanks for the congratulations!

Leave a Reply

