Vented.

16 Nov

November is kicking my ass.

In fact, I’m so angry with November that I’m taking it out on everyone else around me.

I feel like I’m working myself into the ground and there is SO MUCH TO DO before Thanksgiving and the holidays and before 2010.

There should be this culmination of things as I wrap up my 101 in 1001 challenge but all I feel is failure because I’m not going to accomplish everything on that damn list. And I need to paint the bathroom. And I need to go get a bed frame. And I need to cook dinner, and clean the house, and wash the dog, and go to school and wake up and work all day long.

I blame this weekend. I was out-of-town from Thursday night until Sunday night for my Army weekend and now it’s Monday and I feel like I’ve been GOING GOING GOING for weeks and I only have ONE (AHHHHHHHHH!!!) weekend until Thanksgiving to get my house in order and go grocery shopping and really, my head is going to explode.

Added on top of that pile, a problem with Andrew and I getting paid for duty we pulled way back during the Inauguration is still unresolved. As in, the Army STILL owes us $1400 which is really, really annoying because that’d pay for the Alaska cruise we want to take in May.

So, what do you do to relax?

10 Responses to “Vented.”

  1. san November 16, 2009 at 8:46 PM #

    Tea. My secret is tea. I drink a whole pot of herbal tea when I come home after work.

    I hear you about feeling stressed out. Try to make a little time for yourself every night.

    • Terra November 17, 2009 at 7:27 PM #

      I think the making time for myself bit is something I really, really need to work on – thanks for suggesting it!

  2. Alverna November 17, 2009 at 12:06 AM #

    I feel you…November is speeding by WAY too fast. I feel robbed of time!

    Anyway, my stress busters are:

    1. Popcorn. Lots of popcorn. Ice cream will do when the popcorn runs out.
    2. Driving with my sunroof open and my radio way up.
    3. Tension Tamer tea. (It’s made by Celestial Seasonings.) After a rough day, I take a mug of it to bed with me. (I know, that makes me sound like an old lady!)

    Hang in there and good luck getting ready for the holidays!

    • Terra November 17, 2009 at 7:27 PM #

      I love Celestial Seasonings teas – all of them. Especially the Tension Tamer. Did our moms drink that a lot of something? It’s odd that we both use it when we’re stressed…

  3. H to the Izzo November 17, 2009 at 11:03 AM #

    Are you going to be gone the first weekend of Dec? Christmas party is pending.

    Singing helps me relax. Getting in the car with radio/CD and singing along at top of lungs also works, especially if it is a nice day out.

    Petting/playing with my cat. Animals relieve stress, they say.

  4. Margaret November 17, 2009 at 12:44 PM #

    Take a brisk walk/run, to get rid of your angst…DON’T take it out on hubs.
    Unless your bathroom has peeling paint and mold, put it last on your list.
    Write up a grocery list, and send hubs to the store.
    Wipe out your sinks and shine the faucets. It will look as if you’ve cleaned the whole room.
    If the house doesn’t get a thorough cleaning, do a ‘quick and dirty. ‘ Get the dust bunnies out of the corners and run a feather duster over the furniture.
    Give SadieGirl her bath this weekend, rather than letting it go till Wednesday night.
    This will sound silly, but it will help a lot, when it’s time to put the food out. – Get out all your serving bowls/dishes. Decide what will go in/on them. Write it down on a little piece of paper and place it in/on the dish. When it’s time to serve the dinner and someone says, ” is there something I can do? “, you can tell them to put the potatoes in the bowl with the potato note….

    The world will not end, if you don’t get everything done according to your dream of your First Thanksgiving Day Celebration with the family.

    Don’t leave anything for Thanksgiving morning, that can be done ahead of time.

    The people who will be in your home, are there to see you and hubs and share a meal with you. They will not be there to inspect your house or to pass judgment on the two of you as homeowners.

    There are 2 of you getting ready for this. Don’t think you have to do all of it, just because you’re ‘the wife.’

  5. CuppyCakes November 18, 2009 at 3:02 AM #

    cupcakes. Or sleep.

    or right now.. planning my next trip, even though I’ve been home less than five days. Wooh!

  6. Ash November 19, 2009 at 8:12 PM #

    Well, how about I clue you in that your sis can’t wait until she has a house of her own & can have her first family Thanksgiving. She has asked me several times if you will let her help you cook and such. So you have a ready made assistant!

  7. Espn December 29, 2014 at 10:22 PM #

    It’s really great that people are sharing this innfamrtioo.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I might have smelled like a goat | terra the bear - October 4, 2014

    […] Monday was a no-good, very-bad day, and since I was still super pissed off at Monday and at the entire month of November, I really, […]

Leave a Reply

