Taking a beating

19 Nov

Right before Halloween, as we were putting together out brand-spankin’ new buffet in the dining room, I turned my head a little to quickly and smashed the side of my nose into the corner or our very big, very solid dining table.

It hurt for weeks. In fact, it’s only recently that I’ve been able to apply pressure to the side of nose without wincing. Somehow though, I managed to walk away from that incident without a broken nose or a black eye. I considered myself lucky.

Sadie FluffButt has the annoying habit of pouncing on us the moment our alarm goes off and most mornings, if we have time, we play with her for a bit before getting up for the day. So this morning, Sadie is all sorts of wound up and is super hyper and we’re playing with and then she slams her head back. Right into my brow bone.

My eyes tear up from the OMG OW OW OW PAIN, and I hold my eye like that’s going to help and then I start touching  my eye lid and eye brow and realize that it’s already swelling up and I look at Andrew and ask if it looks like it’s swelling and he says “oh no, she broke skin” and so I LEAP out of bed and go look in the mirror and see a bit of blood smeared on my face because YES, INDEED, FurBitch has broken skin and now I have a cut right underneath my eyebrow.

Somehow my eye hasn’t turned black yet. I’m not sure if it’s that I iced it immediately after realizing that damn dog had fucked me up, or if I’m just really, really lucky.

Either way, I’m starting to think the Universe to out to give me a black eye.

5 Responses to “Taking a beating”

  1. san November 19, 2009 at 4:11 PM #

    Ouch. You gotta be more careful, lady.

  2. Margaret November 19, 2009 at 5:10 PM #

    Hmmmm, I’d like to give SadieButt a ‘Margaret LOOK’..Sorry you have a boo-boo on your beautiful face.

  3. CuppyCakes November 20, 2009 at 3:59 AM #

    man.. that sucks. I hope you don’t get the black eyes.

  4. Alverna November 20, 2009 at 10:09 PM #

    Furbitch…lol

    I’m sure SadieDog felt HORRIBLE though!

    Glad your eye isn’t as bad today as it could have been!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Photographical « questionable rationale - November 23, 2009

    […] and then gave her a bath (she hated it, as usual). Luckily, she didn’t give me another black eye. It was a near-perfect […]

Leave a Reply

