When I grow up…

25 Nov

I want to be a rock star, a super hero and a novelist. I want to always have my toenails painted bright pink, or lime green or black. I want to travel to France, Belgium, Austria, Italy, Romania, Sweden, Norway, Ireland, and the Netherlands. I want to wear more skirts and better mascara. I want to have a pack of puppies that sit and give me kisses on command.  I want to work fewer weekends, and volunteer more weekends.

I want to be totally comfortable in my own skin. I want a bigger voice. I want to remember how to ride horses. I want a beautiful garden designed by me. I want to write without hesitation. I want to throw caution, all of it, into the wind.  I want the ability to get up and just go. I want to spend afternoons outside reading classic novels. I want to bake pies that smell like heaven and cakes that won’t make me fat.

I want to have a degree. I want to visit all 50 states. I want to learn to swim. I want to walk barefoot all the time. I want low-maintenance hair that always falls into place without any effort from me.  I want a bigger sense of who I am. I want to walk for something I believe in. I want to convince others that freedom and love for everyone on the planet is the right thing to do. I want to save a life.

I want to still dance around the house with music blasting.  I want to love my husband even more than I already do.  I want to feel responsible. I want to be proud. I want to have a combat patch. I want to curtains on all my windows.  I want to have a best friend outside of my marriage. I want to write in a paper journal.  I want to learn to play an instrument, like the harmonica.

I want to save the world.

What do you want to do/be when you grow up?

7 Responses to “When I grow up…”

  1. H to the Izzo November 25, 2009 at 11:09 AM #

    This is a great list. I relate to a lot of them. Hope your Thanksgiving goes smoothly–it sounds like it will great. It’s too bad I’m missing it.

  2. Margaret November 25, 2009 at 11:23 AM #

    You have and will make a positive difference in the world.

    Very meaningful goals

  3. amy November 25, 2009 at 1:29 PM #

    What a great post!
    I can’t wait to make my list.

    hugs, amy

  4. san November 25, 2009 at 3:31 PM #

    Great post, Terra.

  5. CuppyCakes November 26, 2009 at 4:30 AM #

    I want to inspire someone the way you inspire me.
    fullofmush. 🙂

  6. Jamie November 27, 2009 at 12:19 PM #

    Fantastic post. I want so many of these things too!

  7. titus2woman November 30, 2009 at 10:26 AM #

    What is a combat patch? and please let me plug the mountain dulcimer as an AWESOME instrument to learn to play (though I have a very long list of others I wanna learn, too)! ~smile~

Leave a Reply

